PDA

View Full Version : New user not sure if I want to invest in another eTools.

GTGizra
March 21st, 2020, 07:46
I downloaded the demo version off of Steam to try out and see if it is worth buying to switch all the user inputted data I have in eTools into a different computer aid for running my 3.5 D&D campaign that I have been running since AD&D in 1981. I am happy with how 3.5 works for my campaign and have invested heavily into it and do not want or am able to afford any newer edition books so don't suggest it. I have been using eTools to track and prepare my campaign since the time version 3.5 came out. Unfortunately the company lost their license when Hasbro decided to try forcing the player base to switch to newer versions by pulling all support for 3.5 in 2006 and I have been adding to the database of my copy as I have incorporated later 3.5 rules into my game. Codemonkeys kept assuring everyone they were going to make a new application that could be used by multiple game formats as eTools had just about reached the end of it's useful life and was limited in it's capabilities by the original company that created the program for Wizards of the Coast by using access database for their source code and to progress meaningfully they would have to go back to square one and build a whole new program, unfortunately it's 14 years later and it never appeared. Sorry for the rambling but my main concern is can Fantasy Grounds be used to track characters and world events and create adventures that can be played at the gaming table in an old school gaming set up with battle mats and miniatures as my RPG group are heavily invested in miniature figures and have no wish to stare at a computer screen for their time off?

Karnas
March 21st, 2020, 08:24
Wow, e-tools, that takes me back...