PDA

View Full Version : Rules Set Creator Software

Morfedel
January 4th, 2007, 20:52
I was thinking of trying to create a rules set for Iron Kingdoms, and other games that I also play.

Then it occured to me, that since I'm a programmer, maybe I could just create a piece of software to generate rules sets for you.

The only problem would be making sure that, for example, character sheet info lined up correctly. That might be the trickiest part.

Well, and the other thing. I understand XML pretty well... but, its rather hard on the eyes trying to trace through every xml file to determine what does what. I could use a bit of help in figuring out, for example, what determines the information and layout of the character sheets... the rules books... the clicks that open up information... and what holds the layout for drawing the character sheets onto the background sheets for displaying, for example, the character sheet info.

Once I have that, I can start working on a rules set editor. Although I'm probably going to write it in either C++ or C#, would there be a reason to write it in Java or some other language instead?

Either way, thanks!

richvalle
January 4th, 2007, 21:05
I think someone made a start on this already but I'd have to hunt for the post.

I'd not start this till 2.0 came out as it will all change then.

rv

Morfedel
January 4th, 2007, 21:13
True. Is there any kind of eta on 2.0? I ask because I remember hearing about 1.06 for some time and it never materialized. Now 2.0, which is great, but for how long?

richvalle
January 4th, 2007, 22:06
As a total guess... a month or two out. There are a lot of changes in it.

1.06 became 2.0 as Smiteworks figured there were enough changes to make it a new version.

rv

Casamordius
January 5th, 2007, 11:47
nice idea to write a ruleset designer software! :-)