PDA

View Full Version : Need help with extension coding

Zamirathe
January 31st, 2020, 19:35
So I need a little help. I am not new to programming, but I am new to lua. I expect to learn it pretty quick though. I have unzipped a few extensions looking for how things are done by them to get an idea of what I need to do for what I want. However, I am honestly stuck. Without downloading every extension and unzipping it, I am not even sure if what I want to do is possible with xml and lua without a lot of needless brute forcing it. So if you can point me in the direction to go at with this, please tell me.

I am wanting to create a window with all actors on the combat tracker listed. I want to be able to drag and drop these boxes of each actor around the list to reorder them. This is where I am stuck. I can see how you can create a gui, and how to possibly get them all into the window. I have yet been able to figure out how to do the drag and drop reordering using just xml, lua, and maybe javascript. (Are script calls in the xml files javascript or lua?) I have searched here and on Google, but no luck outside of other games and android apps. Has this been implemented somewhere? A ruleset, extension, or anything where I can see how it has to be coded generically to make a drag and drop list? I have looked at 5e roll for initiative (lifesaver for us!), combat timer, and 5e ruleset a tiny bit. Where else can I look?

JohnD
January 31st, 2020, 19:53
What are you trying to accomplish with the reordering?

Zamirathe
January 31st, 2020, 20:28