PDA

View Full Version : SW Setting Module/Extension

Slagmoth
November 23rd, 2019, 01:13
I am a developer in my profession and have recently decided to make a possible switch from D&D5E to SWADE since I am becoming more and more disillusioned with the 5E rules and their limitations.

What I am looking to do is create a module/extension that will encompass all the things I need to run my world/setting which I am converting from 5E. So this would include predefined powers, items with gp cost, character sheet adjustments, slightly different run rules etc.

I have not found anything that could lead me through something of this magnitude just yet only bits and pieces of what I would need like spells, feats etc... But I would want to make it all in one.

I am not familiar with LUA but I am not sure this would require much in the way of scripting tbh except for the custom run rules which I did find the functions that do that, so I just need to find a way to take the run die, reduce it by one step and add a flat +2 to the total. The only other thing would be to correct the armor calculation when arms, helm and legs are equipped and maybe adjust encumbrance and add coin weights (which I know have been done in other systems).

If anyone can point out where I can either piece all this together or if there is a comprehensive post on something of this magnitude I would appreciate it.

Thank you,

LordEntrails
November 23rd, 2019, 15:33
I don't think their is any comprehensive set of instructions for such. As you can imagine, every such case is going to be pretty unique.

Their are various tutorials, written and in video format for writing extensions and even a ruleset. But I think their already is a SWADE ruleset isn't there? https://www.fantasygrounds.com/store/product.php?id=PEGFGSWADE

So is it just about converting your 5E campaign to a SWADE campaign?

Slagmoth
November 24th, 2019, 02:36