PDA

View Full Version : Unity release hardware questions

Varsuuk
November 22nd, 2019, 06:24
I am, after over 6 years, finally replacing my old late 2012 MacBook Pro. I am configuring It with the lower of the two I9 CPU (8 core, 2.3ghz), and getting the 2TB SSD.

Will definitely upgrade to 32GB (still on fence about 64gb. Hate that you cannot as as you need like I did on my last MacBook - came with 8gb and 1TB IDE - I replaced with 16GB and 1TB. I’m a software engineer and have seen some extremely heavy men use while using Eclipse at times but not so sure of worth. Mainly, with the larger SSD I am considering finally using a Windows VM in addition. In which case I want more HD (2TB cos 4 is too much $ for me) and more RAM to split among native and VM use.

I never intended on upgrading the video. However the 2.3 i9 comes with the middle quality vid card the only diff on top one is same GPUs but 8gb vs 4gb. This would cos just $100 more. My gut says that seems like a decent hedge in case I ever find use for high end. I’d card ...

I’d like it to run as cool as possible given its improved cooling. So if the i7 (but has higher clock so prob not?) is somehow cooler than i9, I’d consider downgrading to 6 cores (mainly wanted8 cores to split VM 4 + 4) because aI great when it chugs noisily and hot ;)

Any tips based on FGU on best bang for buck on upgrades?
Any thoughts on new MbP16 thermals and noice based on config (or links to said sites)

I just wish Amazon would start carrying 32GB models before holidays so can get a small discount

Moon Wizard
November 22nd, 2019, 07:36
I'm running FGU on a 2 year old system with no hiccups. (i7-8700k CPU, 16GB MEM, GTX 1080 GPU, 1TB SSD SATA). Most desktop systems you can get these days are at least as good or better specs usually, unless you are trying to go cheap as possible or go laptop with no discrete GPU.

Regards,
JPG

Valyar
November 22nd, 2019, 09:54