PDA

View Full Version : More automation



MadBeardMan
August 4th, 2019, 13:22
Folks,

What extra automation are you after being added, more to combat (not effects as that's another thread), when creating characters etc?

Let me know here.

Note that sometimes it's very difficult to automate what appear to be simple things, but we can discuss those.

Cheers,
MBM

goodmanje
September 22nd, 2019, 07:12
Are you asking this and the effects question for Mongoose Traveller 2nd edition?

chumbly
September 22nd, 2019, 10:42
Well. like somebody mentioned in another thread, having the race and career records be droppable into the character sheet.
Perhaps have the drag link on the career branch assignment, then when you drag to the career history section on the character sheet it fills in both the career and branch assignment field. Then having the current survival, advancement and commission checks being recorded in the character sheet for a button on the personal tab to survive or to advance. It would be really nice in the career history list to have the term age or numbers, on main tab have the current age. Age has a significant place in Traveller creation, and also aging rolls while traveling, so having a field to keep track of current age isn't really superfluous.

Also, it would be really nice on the career record(what you bring upon the career sidebar button), to have the links to the appropriate skill, event and mustering out benefit rolls on the specific career record. I found myself when I tried character creation bouncing back and forth from the reference manual, to the career record and then having to search the tables list to find the appropriate skill, event or benefits table. having links on the career record to the specific tables would speed up thing and make it much easier.

Also, the 2 image files that contain the character creation flow chart, are really useful, especially for the New user. I would suggest having a sidebar button that
would bring up those two image files, instead of having to search the image directory for them.

Also, I think more thought needs to be done on the Create PC sidebar selections, for a non-GM player trying to make a character. He would need access to the career and race tabs, and unless the links are added to the career sidebar record, access to the tables sidebar menu too, to successfully be able to build a character. Another reason to add the skill table, other tables to the career sidebar record.

I know that adding those links to the career records might be time-consuming, and I sure don't want to slow your advancement along for the catalog and high guard modules, perhaps you could farm out that grunt task to some willing grunt/prole(if you are a secret Zhodani hiding out on earth, it should be an easy task to make the grunt/prole want to complete this task quickly and efficiently with every bit of his will. He will love doing this..must complete early..must complete without bugs... He will be sooo pleased).

Anyway.. my suggestions

Chumbly

chumbly
September 22nd, 2019, 11:28
Also, I know that automated starship combat and construction will not be added to the high guard module. But you might
want to have the standard rulebook ship record fields. just like you currently have the vehicle record on the sidebar. Even if the fields of the record
change in the post Highguard release, having the record available for somebody to type in the ship fields from a traveller book,
would allow for a GM to do non-automated combat. Also, having a droppable editable cargo field so merchant campaigns can record
what their ship is containing.

Ships are too intrinsic to a traveller session/campaign not to have some sort of record, even if automated construction and combat is not available until Highguard. Probably would want to have "class" record. that is selectable and when dragged to the desktop allows a unique ship record(with the ship name, registry and ownership info, and some basic ship operation financial fields, like the mortgage and operating costs)

But NOT saying you should bring up ship construction or combat before Highguards. Just provide a blank standard ship record, so GM can store party ship info.

Chumbly

MadBeardMan
September 22nd, 2019, 13:13
Are you asking this and the effects question for Mongoose Traveller 2nd edition?

Hello,

Yes, Effects! In 1E it doesn't really have an effects system, but 2E kinda does. For example, radiation/fire. What I'd like to see is a discussion around what effects to have and the effects of those effects.

Cheers,
MBM

MadBeardMan
September 22nd, 2019, 13:19
Well. like somebody mentioned in another thread, having the race and career records be droppable into the character sheet.
Perhaps have the drag link on the career branch assignment, then when you drag to the career history section on the character sheet it fills in both the career and branch assignment field. Then having the current survival, advancement and commission checks being recorded in the character sheet for a button on the personal tab to survive or to advance. It would be really nice in the career history list to have the term age or numbers, on main tab have the current age. Age has a significant place in Traveller creation, and also aging rolls while traveling, so having a field to keep track of current age isn't really superfluous.

Also, it would be really nice on the career record(what you bring upon the career sidebar button), to have the links to the appropriate skill, event and mustering out benefit rolls on the specific career record. I found myself when I tried character creation bouncing back and forth from the reference manual, to the career record and then having to search the tables list to find the appropriate skill, event or benefits table. having links on the career record to the specific tables would speed up thing and make it much easier.

Also, the 2 image files that contain the character creation flow chart, are really useful, especially for the New user. I would suggest having a sidebar button that
would bring up those two image files, instead of having to search the image directory for them.

Also, I think more thought needs to be done on the Create PC sidebar selections, for a non-GM player trying to make a character. He would need access to the career and race tabs, and unless the links are added to the career sidebar record, access to the tables sidebar menu too, to successfully be able to build a character. Another reason to add the skill table, other tables to the career sidebar record.

I know that adding those links to the career records might be time-consuming, and I sure don't want to slow your advancement along for the catalog and high guard modules, perhaps you could farm out that grunt task to some willing grunt/prole(if you are a secret Zhodani hiding out on earth, it should be an easy task to make the grunt/prole want to complete this task quickly and efficiently with every bit of his will. He will love doing this..must complete early..must complete without bugs... He will be sooo pleased).

Anyway.. my suggestions

Chumbly

Some good ideas there. Addng the Skills/Event on the Career Data is quite easy, just takes time. Let me re-read your ideas a few times to get them into my head.




Also, I know that automated starship combat and construction will not be added to the high guard module. But you might
want to have the standard rulebook ship record fields. just like you currently have the vehicle record on the sidebar. Even if the fields of the record
change in the post Highguard release, having the record available for somebody to type in the ship fields from a traveller book,
would allow for a GM to do non-automated combat. Also, having a droppable editable cargo field so merchant campaigns can record
what their ship is containing.

Ships are too intrinsic to a traveller session/campaign not to have some sort of record, even if automated construction and combat is not available until Highguard. Probably would want to have "class" record. that is selectable and when dragged to the desktop allows a unique ship record(with the ship name, registry and ownership info, and some basic ship operation financial fields, like the mortgage and operating costs)

But NOT saying you should bring up ship construction or combat before Highguards. Just provide a blank standard ship record, so GM can store party ship info.

Chumbly

I agreee. I do have a Ship Record Sheet, just like the Vehicle sheet. What I didn't want to do was create data, then in a few months throw that away. But I can add it in as a basic ship record, and then in the future when High Guard is out, replace it, with something that can be 'built'.

I'll get onto that next week as 1E has most of it already (never released).

Cheers,
MBM

chumbly
September 22nd, 2019, 15:15
Just an idea for the ship record. For the Party's ship, it would be nice if you could drop a link to the ship record in the Party Sheet Record.
to have an easy way of bringing up the Ship owned/used by the Party.

Chumbly
(Side Note... MadBeardMan.. you should toot your horn... add Mongoose Traveller (2e) to your Ruleset list in your Signature... You earned it.

MadBeardMan
September 22nd, 2019, 15:22
Just an idea for the ship record. For the Party's ship, it would be nice if you could drop a link to the ship record in the Party Sheet Record.
to have an easy way of bringing up the Ship owned/used by the Party.

Chumbly
(Side Note... MadBeardMan.. you should toot your horn... add Mongoose Traveller (2e) to your Ruleset list in your Signature... You earned it.

Been meaning to sort out my signature, tidy it up, or point it towards something else, or something, not sure. I have a cup of tea, but off into town soon to pick up a hard-copy of the Traveller Companion.

I'll make sure that 'Ships' can be dragged into the Equipment, would that work for you?

There's a new version of the Character Sheet, so I plan in the future (next year defo) to update the Look and Feel to allow for more characteristics etc, inside that I'll probably do a section for Party Ship,

Just posted on Twitter, an update to the Central Supply Catalogue, it's built on v1.0.1 which has some bug fixes done :)

Cheers,
MBM

chumbly
September 22nd, 2019, 15:30
Yes works Fine... I just wanted an easy way of associating a ship with the Party interface wise. For that
matter Craft should probably be treated the same way, so the party can easily access "Their" ships boat and air raft.

Enjoy reading your companion.

Chumbly

antoneagle
November 29th, 2019, 00:21
Drag and drop armors onto NPC sheets. Drag and drop currently seems to work for weapons, but not armors (unless I'm doing something wrong).

esmdev
November 29th, 2019, 00:34
Drag and drop armors onto NPC sheets. Drag and drop currently seems to work for weapons, but not armors (unless I'm doing something wrong).

You cannot currently drag and drop armor onto the NPC sheets. There is a revision to the way that NPCs will work (hopefully) in the next update.

Ardem
December 4th, 2019, 09:25
Language, was always cool considering some people can read certain languages and some cannot. This was always good in D&D

MadBeardMan
December 4th, 2019, 10:57
You cannot currently drag and drop armor onto the NPC sheets. There is a revision to the way that NPCs will work (hopefully) in the next update.

v1.0.3 is in TEST. It allows you to drag armour/skills/weapons/equipment onto an NPC.

Cheers,
MBM

MadBeardMan
December 4th, 2019, 10:58
Language, was always cool considering some people can read certain languages and some cannot. This was always good in D&D

Good idea, I'll re-look at this and see how it works, there's no font for other languages so let me test how it works.

Cheers,
MBM

LordNanoc
December 4th, 2019, 13:12
Automation for that matter as I stated before, my go-to would be ranges/distances in a battlemap influencing the damage done (or the to hit roll respectively).

If possible so, ofc.

Ardem
December 5th, 2019, 00:30
As long as it is over writable. Sometimes I have large combat maps, but do not want to the grid to be super small to make the 1.5m. So I say 1.5 might = 15m in the game. 1.5m is always good for those indoor bar fights but not great for outdoor battles.

Alternative is to add in the options section a grid size in metres, much like you did for 1.5m switch making it a variable, this way you can do the range/distance in battlemaps and still have long distant fights.

sjard
December 5th, 2019, 05:53
If you want the Vilani language font for Traveller, look up Bilanidin (should be a true type font). Was created for some of the early magazines by Glenn Hope.

I was considering fiddling with it myself at some point. If I ever got around to it.

MadBeardMan
December 7th, 2019, 18:02
If you want the Vilani language font for Traveller, look up Bilanidin (should be a true type font). Was created for some of the early magazines by Glenn Hope.

I was considering fiddling with it myself at some point. If I ever got around to it.

I've looked into Languages, adding them itself it quite easy (I did that for WOIN).

The issue is a Character knowing if they understand that language or not. Normally a character has a list of languages known, in Traveller it's a skill.

So what I'll have to do is override the CoreRPG code that gets 'Known Languages' with one that searches a characters skills for 'Language'

All possible, and fun, so I'll work on that now.

Huzzah
MBM

esmdev
December 7th, 2019, 19:14
Maybe just add an area onto the character sheet where we can write in languages that we know, each on its own line. So if we take the language skill Aslan and we want to use the chat languages we just add Aslan manually to the languages area as well. It isn't automated but it makes the chat languages work. I don't have a problem doing it manually.

MadBeardMan
December 7th, 2019, 20:47
Maybe just add an area onto the character sheet where we can write in languages that we know, each on its own line. So if we take the language skill Aslan and we want to use the chat languages we just add Aslan manually to the languages area as well. It isn't automated but it makes the chat languages work. I don't have a problem doing it manually.

Don't worry as languages only get added when you start a new campaign I've got a bit of work around that, but one then that allows me to add more languages later on, as there are multiple languages for Vargr etc

At the moment in MGT2E you have:

"Anglic"
"Oynprith"
"Vilani"
"Zdetl"

But as more and more books are released, I'm sure languages like 'Trokh' (Aslan) will appear.

Cheers,
MBM

antoneagle
December 22nd, 2019, 01:48
When we add items to a character's equipment list, it should subtract the cost of that item from their credits. Right now, we have to do all our accounting in a separate character sheet in Excel. It would be better if character finances could all be managed within FG.

Andraax
December 22nd, 2019, 03:27
So, if a group finds a case of ACRs, they have to pay for them when they add them to their character sheet?

MadBeardMan
December 22nd, 2019, 12:17
When we add items to a character's equipment list, it should subtract the cost of that item from their credits. Right now, we have to do all our accounting in a separate character sheet in Excel. It would be better if character finances could all be managed within FG.

As Andraax has said, how would we allow people to move items between characters, pick up 'treasure' etc. An item has a class associated to it, I don't see how we can differentiate things to make this work, sorry.

Andraax
December 22nd, 2019, 16:14
Actually, a trick I use when I'm setting up stuff like "packages" (or pre-filled "backpacks") in FG is to create a parcel with the items, and the total cost as a negative on the money side of the parcel. If you drag and drop that parcel onto the inventory tab, it subtracts the money for you. Don't know if works for sure in the Traveller rulesets, but I've done it in other rulesets.

father0fnine
December 22nd, 2019, 16:52
When we add items to a character's equipment list, it should subtract the cost of that item from their credits. Right now, we have to do all our accounting in a separate character sheet in Excel. It would be better if character finances could all be managed within FG.

How about a different approach -- have a button/option in the inventory page by an item that when clicked, subtracts the cost from funds. It's a little cumbersome but so is having to go to a separate program to manage funds and easily ignorable for those who don't like extra clicks/to do it old school.

esmdev
December 22nd, 2019, 17:11
One ruleset side method to accomplish reducing credits from an item purchase without doing it over and over again when things are moved around would be to add a flag when a character first purchases the item like bPurchase = 1 (or however you want) and then check if bPurchase = 1 then don't deduct from the credits because it has already been deducted. Could probably be added into the XML instead. Just thinking out loud.

Andraax
December 22nd, 2019, 18:13
One ruleset side method to accomplish reducing credits from an item purchase without doing it over and over again when things are moved around would be to add a flag when a character first purchases the item like bPurchase = 1 (or however you want) and then check if bPurchase = 1 then don't deduct from the credits because it has already been deducted. Could probably be added into the XML instead. Just thinking out loud.

So, if the party finds a case of ACRs in a warehouse and decides to "liberate" one of them, and that player has never bought an ACR, they have to pay for the item? Or, a player bought a PMGP once on Regina, and can now go into any other weapon shop in the known universe, and all PGMPs are free of charge?

alfarobl
December 22nd, 2019, 18:21
I believe there are many stuff that could use automation, but this doesn't seem like it needs it. Looking at other rulesets they don't, it is a one time deal. It is easy enough to do manually. Some people use money others don't.

Andraax
December 22nd, 2019, 20:29
What if the PC uses his Merchant 2 skill to negotiate a great price for that rad scanner he wants, a 30% decrease. But when he drags and drops it onto his inventory, he has to pay full price for it?

antoneagle
December 27th, 2019, 21:13
Yeah... good points. I take it back. Auto subtracting cost would be a problem. I guess we will just manage this in Excel.

antoneagle
December 28th, 2019, 01:14
After playing around with equipment (especially weapons) and skills, it looks like there are things that are hard-coded that maybe shouldn't be.

For example, if a GM wants to create a new weapon skill or modify an existing weapon skill, they should be able to do so and have equipment link to the new skill. However, weapons only seem to be able to automatically link to the skills that originally come with the ruleset.

By linking" I mean... when you drop an item into a characters equipment list, it creates an action in the action tab with the skill automatically accounted for. This doesn't seem to work with skills that you add to the skill list (unless I'm just doing it wrong).

So, if you're looking for automation to add, it would be good to allow the GM to create skills that can actually be used by the rest of the ruleset. And, it would be good to allow the GM to modify the text and data fields in an item, to allow pointing towards custom skills instead of the canned skills. In fact, from what I can tell, you can't modify the canned items at all. The ruleset should allow for everything to be modified if the GM wants. Nothing should be locked-out.

damned
December 28th, 2019, 02:10
So, if you're looking for automation to add, it would be good to allow the GM to create skills that can actually be used by the rest of the ruleset. And, it would be good to allow the GM to modify the text and data fields in an item, to allow pointing towards custom skills instead of the canned skills. In fact, from what I can tell, you can't modify the canned items at all. The ruleset should allow for everything to be modified if the GM wants. Nothing should be locked-out.

While that is true - the coding for that does get a lot more complex... not saying it cant/wont get done - just saying it is a lot more complex.
Another option MBM might consider if this isnt on the roadmap is to publish a small extension that just includes all the skill lists that these draw from so that the GM could edit that extension so that FG knows about the new scripts.

esmdev
December 28th, 2019, 16:11
By linking" I mean... when you drop an item into a characters equipment list, it creates an action in the action tab with the skill automatically accounted for. This doesn't seem to work with skills that you add to the skill list (unless I'm just doing it wrong).

So, if you're looking for automation to add, it would be good to allow the GM to create skills that can actually be used by the rest of the ruleset. And, it would be good to allow the GM to modify the text and data fields in an item, to allow pointing towards custom skills instead of the canned skills. In fact, from what I can tell, you can't modify the canned items at all. The ruleset should allow for everything to be modified if the GM wants. Nothing should be locked-out.

If you are talking about weapons, it already does that but it requires that you use the () characters on the equipment side. For instance, if you use an older skill like Thrown, when you create the weapon you would have to use Thrown (knife) and the skill could be just Thrown or Thrown (knife), both would work.

If you are talking about general gear, that is probably more likely to show up with Central Supply Catalog but that would have to be confirmed by MBM.

antoneagle
December 29th, 2019, 18:27
Sorry esmdev, but I'm not sure I understand what you're suggesting?

Let's use a concrete example. The stock game has "Gun Combat (slug)" as a weapon skill. However, our group wants to differentiate between skill with a rifle and skill with a pistol, because as anyone who has ever shot both can tell you, the skills involved are not the same. So, we want to use something like "Gun Combat (slug, pistol). But, of course, that skill isn't in the game. So, if I create a piece of equipment and specify that it uses the skill "Gun Combat (slug, pistol), it doesn't recognize that, and thus when added to a character's equipment list, will not show that the character has that skill... even if we have edited the characters skill so that the text matches. It just doesn't work. So, based on what you were trying to explain, how would I make this work?

esmdev
December 29th, 2019, 19:39
You would want to avoid using the , within the (). For instance try it with (slug pistol) or (slug rifle).

So you create a skill called Gun Combat (slug pistol) then you create an item with the use skill (slug pistol) and it should work fine.

For instance, I just created a skill Gun Combat (Super Cool Gun) on an MGT2 character sheet. Then I cloned an accelerator rifle and change the name to The Super Cool Gun and the skill to Gun Combat (super cool gun) and added it to a test character sheet and clicked attack on the action tab and everything worked as expected. I did this to test two things, first to test if you could use multiple words in a single skill () and also to test if you could use mixed characters in the character sheet skill and all lower case in the item skill and if it would still work. Worked fine.

I think it is the commas that are causing you trouble. Instead just do...

Slug Pistol
Slug Rifle
Energy Pistol
Energy Rifle
etc...

antoneagle
January 2nd, 2020, 00:47
I posted in another thread (about the data fields for new items) that we finally got this working. As mentioned in my last post there, it's all about knowing that you need to drag-and-drop stuff to make unlockable copies. We are good now. And, as also mentioned there, we really need some kind of documentation for this ruleset. There are lots of tricks that are non-intuitive, that really should be documented somewhere.

Andraax
January 2nd, 2020, 01:53
Making copies works just the same in this ruleset as it does in most other rulesets.

MadBeardMan
January 10th, 2020, 21:18
There's an FAQ thread, if you think something needs adding and you have the answer then post in that thread and I'll add it to the main posts.