PDA

View Full Version : Concern about refund policy, and modifying rulesets

faramirrangerofithilien
September 4th, 2006, 05:15
I, along with quite a few other people, am considering purchase of FG. However, the sticking point is that we plan on using it to play a Star Wars game based in the original WEG d6 rules. I say sticking point because I read how easy it was to create a ruleset for another system everywhere I looked on the site. But after digging about on the site, like reading the PDF manual, which points out quite clearly that it is too complex for the prog manual to demonstrate said steps, I have concluded that one has to either be a HTML/XML familiar coder, or someone with tons of time to fiddle with the rule files.

I'm not a programmer nor do I have tons of free time, hence why I want to use this prog for my far flung players to game with me, so I wondered if I bought this package, tried to modify it, and then felt it was too difficult to work with, can I get my money back?

I had the same reservations about Campaign Cartographer when I first saw it, but they offered a money back gaurantee, so I took the plunge. I never did CAD work before but the turtorials and supplemental material in the package allowed me to learn the program.

From all I see here the devs have pretty much said you can do it, but haven't really invested the time to fully inform the buyers how to do it. Sure, I've seen some posts, like the one by Goblin-King that is a basic tutorial, but a person not affiliated with the company has invested his own time to make a much better, albeit not complete one, due to his lack of familiarity with the source material, guide.

This being said I would love to try this myself, but sadly am not going to if I and my friends can't be sure we will get our investment back if the package is too complex and/or time consuming to modify to our needs.