PDA

View Full Version : DR and Weapon Enhancement Bonus

willrune
March 13th, 2019, 17:27
I'm trying to help my group figure out how to create certain weapons and actions correctly for a Pathfinder 1E game, but I've run into a bit of a wall as I'm still new at this and was hoping someone would be able to help.

I'd like to create a were creature for a PC to fight. How do I represent DR 5/silver? Can this be done for PCs? Can this be done for NPCs? Can this be done for Monsters? (Whats the difference?)
The PC is a fighter wielding a +3 steel sword. How can the ability to overcome damage reduction based on the enhancement bonus be represented?
How do I create the item so that the action is automatically set up correctly when given to a player?

I've tried reading the PDF, but that seems more 5E focused. I've tried reading the User Guides on the wiki, but I'm having a hard time wrapping my head around it.

I've created a local test campaign that is currently empty so I can test it all in isolation.

Trenloe
March 13th, 2019, 20:26
There's a couple of things to look at here.

Firstly - any DR is handled via the DR effect applied to an actor in the combat tracker. Info on that here: https://www.fantasygrounds.com/wiki/index.php/3.5E_Effects#Modifiers

1) If the DR 5/silver text is in the correct place on the NPC record ("SQ" entry in the "Defense" section), when you add that NPC to the combat tracker the correct effect should be parsed and created in the combat tracker effects for that creature. Have a look at the "Lycanthrope, Werewolf (Hybrid Form)" NPC in the PFRPG Bestiary (SRD) module that comes with FG.

There's no difference in terms of the data for NPCs or Monsters.

PCs are a little bit difference, defensive qualities aren't parsed when a PC is added to the combat tracker - you'll need to apply effects manually once the PC is in the combat tracker. This usually isn't an issue as PCs usually stay in the combat tracker.