PDA

View Full Version : I need some help and tutoring...

MyGivinOpinion
March 7th, 2019, 15:46
I want to code and develop for FG but I am having the hardest time understanding how LUA and XML work, I guess mainly because I'm trying to learn two languages at once.. but I could really use some help on my understanding of how to navigate the FG code structure. I have some basic JAVA and C# knowledge and understanding. I am feeling kinda drowned at the moment. If anyone can help me I'd greatly appreciate the help. (This may take some time..)

Zacchaeus
March 7th, 2019, 17:36
Some info here https://www.fantasygrounds.com/forums/showthread.php?20651-Modifying-the-CoreRPG-ruleset

Some tutorials here https://www.fantasygrounds.com/forums/showthread.php?47382-MoreCore-Info

If you do a site search for 'coding tutorials' you'll find a few more hits.

MyGivinOpinion
March 7th, 2019, 19:28
Yes. I've got much of the information at hand.. I've got the programming ref doc and the scripting ref doc open. I've been sifting through the code. I know most of what I want to do and the areas to edit. IE I want to display a subwindow in the map around a player but i don't know how the language works enough to be able to start coding?? if that makes sense.. my buddy says i need to make some addhandlers for what i want but atm that's far above my capabilities as i'm struggling to understand the basics here.

Trenloe
March 7th, 2019, 19:59
IE I want to display a subwindow in the map around a player but i don't know how the language works enough to be able to start coding??
A subwindow is a container of other controls: https://www.fantasygrounds.com/refdoc/subwindow.xcp