PDA

View Full Version : Combat Tracker questions

Wellness
February 23rd, 2019, 13:52
Hello, I am new to fantasy Grounds and will be running my first game under the 5e ruleset. I was running a ''practice'' combat with 2 instances of FG running, on GM and one connected as a player and a few questions came up.

1) it was a very simple combat against giant rats. For example, if a rat had 7 HP, when it got to 7 wounds, some of the rats went unconscious and were listed as dying. Is it possible to have them go straight to Dead? If not, what is the quickest way for the GM to set them to dead?

2) What are some best practices to deal with dead NPCs to clean up the Combat tracker? Make them invisible?

3) From the Player side, I could target NPCs with ctrl-Left click directly from the map, but I could not do it from the combat tracker. If I tried to ctrl-left click on a NPC on the combat tracker (player FG), I got the error message: Active PC not listed in combat tracker.

Thanks in advance

Targas
February 23rd, 2019, 14:03
I simply delete dying/dead NPC entries (right click, delete) so that they don‘t clutter the map and the CT. You can modify the damage in the combat tracker to more than double amount of HP to the status to dead. But I don‘t bother, just delete them. As a player you can‘t steer the NPCs by default (you could if you‘d drag the NPC to the PC symbol on the tp left, but that‘s a different story). You can still drag attck or damage dice to the NPC combt tracker, instead of targeting it the other way.

Zacchaeus
February 23rd, 2019, 15:13
When an NPC has taken enough wounds a red delete key appears on the far right of the NPC entry on CT. Just click it to delete the NPC from the Combat Tracker. NPCs don't auto delete since it is possible to have them be revived etc or some might regenerate.