PDA

View Full Version : Moving PCs to another Campaign

Jingo
August 23rd, 2006, 05:41
Our PCs are nearing the completion of the free adventure "The Wizard's Amulet". I've purchased the PDF for The Crucible of Freya and have been converting that into a new FG adventure for our group to play.

My question: how do I import the player characters from the other campaign to this new one? There's probably an easy way to do this, but not exactly sure. It looks like they're all house inside the db.xml file. I suppose I can just copy and paste from there into the new db.xml.

But there's a lot of room for human error toying around with all those xml tags. Is there an easier way to do this? Some free tool that someone has come up with? Any tips or hints?

devinnight
August 23rd, 2006, 07:25
I'm no expert in XML, so this is what I did a while back when I started the 2nd part of my campaign. I had my existing players all log in to the new campaign and creat a character. No stats or anything just the name.
This created the right node in the new campaign database file.

Then I had them email their characters file from the previous campaign folder.
You can then copy the info from the older file into the new node in the new DB file. Make sure the node is started and ended correctly.

Thats how i did it anyway.
-D

PS I used the XIN xml editor it is color coded and worked for a noob like me.

Griogre
August 23rd, 2006, 08:11
My question: how do I import the player characters from the other campaign to this new one? There's probably an easy way to do this, but not exactly sure. It looks like they're all house inside the db.xml file. I suppose I can just copy and paste from there into the new db.xml.

But there's a lot of room for human error toying around with all those xml tags. Is there an easier way to do this? Some free tool that someone has come up with? Any tips or hints?