PDA

View Full Version : LFP Dark Tower (Judges Guild/Jaquays 1980) 5e Conversion

Crozlo
January 16th, 2019, 23:38
Hey Critters!

I am looking for a couple more players for a 5e conversion of the original Judges Guild/Jaquays "Dark Tower" module from 1980. I did a face-to-face play test, made some adjustments, and am hoping the balance is about right for the pre-gens I have created. Here are the details:

About me: I began playing in 7th grade back in the late 70's, and took a hiatus beginning mid 2e. I got back into it with 5e a couple years ago, and have been mostly DMing, but doing a bit of playing both face-to-face and on Roll20. I am new to Fantasy Grounds, so this will be my first run using this app. I strive to do my job as well as possible, to provide as immersive an experience as I can. I enjoy role-playing the NPCs as well as striving to make them believable, in both social and combat situations. I have a good grasp of the rules, but am not averse to player's correcting me.

About the adventure: This is a classic AD&D module that has stood the test of time due to Jaquays' creative genius and storytelling. I have been in communication with her about the conversion I'm doing, and she is eager to see the end result. I am using pre-gens to finalize the recommended party balance to provide a reasonable chance to complete the final quest, which involves routing out servants of an evil god attempting to gain a foothold in the area. While there will be a fair amount of roleplaying needed to gain an advantage, this is a combat heavy adventure requiring strategic and tactical prowess. I'd like to play 3-4 hours/week. It could take up to a year to complete the adventure at that rate. Maybe six months.