PDA

View Full Version : Herolab NPC to FG import on a Mac...

Sam Elmore
November 4th, 2018, 19:01
Very Newbie here with crossed eyes from reading so many posts and trying to make sense of it all! I've just purchased both Fantasy Grounds and Herolabs for a 3.5 (not Pathfinder) game that I'm running. My question, is there a way to create an NPC in Herolab and import it into Fantasy Grounds as an NPC on an iMac running Seirra? I've seen solutions for Pathfinder rulesets and for Windows computers but nothing for an Apple user. Any help would be greatly appreciated! Apologies in advance if I've posted this to the wrong forum!

Zacchaeus
November 4th, 2018, 19:20
Hi Sam Elmore, welcome to FG.

I know very little about macs but from the snippets I've gleaned I think your answer depends on what you have installed on your mac. The imported is a windows program so you need to find a way to run windows on your mac. I've heard Parallels mentioned without me knowing exactly what that is (I assume a Windows emulator of some sort). As far as I know the converter won't run within Wine (or is it Wineskin). Your question has come up once or twice but I haven't seen a definitive answer either.

Sam Elmore
November 4th, 2018, 19:32
Thanks Zacchaeus for the quick reply. That's kind of what I thought from what I've seen but was hoping for a miracle :) You might know the answer to this then...right now, we create our characters in HeroLab on the mac, export and email to someone with a Windows computer, run the Character converter app on that computer, and email it back to the Mac to upload in Fantasy Grounds. Do any of the other programs that run on Windows support this type of work around? Or does Fantasy Grounds need to be installed on the computer being used for the conversion and import of the NPC?

Trenloe
November 4th, 2018, 19:50