PDA

View Full Version : Connectivity Issues From a New User

HighInquisitorTremayne
October 30th, 2018, 17:56
Hi all,

New user here looking to make the switch from roll20 to FG. I've been running games on a VTT for about the past 10 years starting with maptools and moving onto roll20. I only did some cursory research, but as I like to dig into the nuts and bolts of something I made the leap and purchased the ultimate license with the core D&D 5e books. But, once I realized FG was a hosted program similar to maptools, I started to freak out. I had constant connectivity issues with maptools which is why I eventually made the switch to roll20. My fears about using FG are compounded because my job takes me all over the world with various internet speeds and reliability. Currently I have ~9mbps down and ~9mbps up. This can drastically fluctuate from minute to minute and sometimes drop down to 1mbps. I also understand that FG operates best with low-res images of <1mb, and minimal sharing of images, which is also worrisome.

So my questions are:
- I can reduce image sizes no problem, but are there then resolution images within the app? Meaning, with maps of size less than 1mb, I assume they are pixilated and blurry most of the time?
- Is 9mbps sufficient speed for running games? What about with a total of say 10mb of shared images?
- Is there a recommended "allowance" of size of shared images? Like, would you only recommend sharing only 3mbs of images at any given time?
- For example, I currently have 552 mbs of images stored in my roll20 account. How do you manage that in FG?
- I've already be tinkering around with it and had my ISP forward the port, but are there other connectivity issues I should be on the look out for as a newb?

I like what I have seen so far, and a VTT is critical to keeping gaming going for me, so just hoping it all works out. Trying to get my current players to do a test run.