PDA

View Full Version : Dungeonfog

Kelrugem
October 26th, 2018, 20:01
Hello all :)

Does someone know Dungeonfog, a mapmaker (see here: https://www.dungeonfog.com/). Looks interesting, but I wonder if someone tried this out and has some experience with this. There is some free version for testing which I try out :)

Best,

Kelrugem

GunnarGreybeard
October 26th, 2018, 20:36
I haven't tried it yet but it looks interesting. Appears more user friendly than Dungeon Painter Studio, IMHO.

jasonthelamb
October 26th, 2018, 22:00
I have used both DPS and Dungeonfog - and I would honestly rather use DPS. I was unimpressed by dungeonfog - I have a premium subscription, but it seems like there are still very few assets available... I am unsure, I may just be doing it wrong... but with the addition of Forgotten Adventures Patreon stuff on DPS - I have *really* enjoyed playing around with it and making some halfway decent maps.

mac40k
October 26th, 2018, 22:27
I own DPS and recently tried out Dungeonfog (DF) for my current campaign. It's worth noting that while the end result (battlemaps) might be the same, they are very different programs. DPS is a tile mapper, while DF is a more of a drawing program. DF is still in beta and as the program matures, I expect that it will only get better. For my game, I ended up drawing just the basic layout in DF, exported it, and then used another program to insert the other assets I wanted to use from my collection.

Andraax
October 26th, 2018, 23:10
You can add your own assets to Dungeon Fog. I have added a bunch from my personal library for my use.

Ken L
October 26th, 2018, 23:41
I use DF all the time now for my battle maps. The polygon tool for rooms makes it easy to edit, and meld your rooms into shapes that would be tricky for other programs. DPS and others like are are stamp tools, or if they do have polygon tools, they're mostly for "drawing" a wall, but then editing it later becomes an issue.