PDA

View Full Version : Player connection issue

GMSean
October 16th, 2018, 18:35
I've been using FG for over a year now and absolutely love it.

A player has regularly had technical issues staying connected. While this has always been hit or miss with this player, it seems to be getting particularly troublesome as of late.

I am not technically inclined. Put that out there immediately. I am not a total idiot, but let's consider me close.

What I have noticed:

My db file has grown over the course of the game (new files added, so of course), but even when things have been removed (mods or images) there's been no overall reduction in the db size. Would this have any impact?

When I add in custom maps (I tend to utilize Heroic Maps with some graphic alterations) on a medium to low resolution setting, it still causes connection stability issues for this player. (its much worse if the resolution is better on the maps).

When I use large tokens (typically spell effect, but I know that has nothing to really do with it) his connection drops.

As I said, we've been doing this for a year. I've got three other players who have minimal to no issues, so clearly things are working correctly...for the most part. But this one player's issues are becoming a real concern.

Any help and insight is greatly appreciated!

RolePlay
October 16th, 2018, 19:25
This is tough to say, but I feel like 99% of a successful campaign is having a reliable crew.

It seems selfless and noble of you to take this issue to the Forum, but I'm sure I'm not the only one wondering why you and not them?

I'd say this person probably has issues that are specific to his machine/internet provider and would probably need his personal attention.

Trenloe
October 16th, 2018, 20:02