PDA

View Full Version : Looking for Group for Thesis Research

GeniusCirno
October 2nd, 2018, 15:11
Good morning (as it is morning as I write this),

My name is Bradley Foxx. I'm a Graduate Student at Eastern Kentucky University and I need the help of some players and a good DM. I'm focusing my research on the rhetorical situation in D&D between the players, the DM, and the "texts" (the rulebooks, the dice, stuff like that) and the tools and obstacles participants will run into during the cooperative storytelling/gaming process. I need some primary source research for my Thesis and I have limited experience with 5E, but as I'm writing to an audience unfailiar with D&D and 5E is the most recent iteration of this beloved game, that's the one I'm using.

As such, it would be very helpful to have a game or two under my belt to use as primary source documentation of how the cooperative narrative process works in D&D. I would be participating as a Participant Observer in 1-3 sessions of a new or ongoing campaign. The campaign setting can be homebrew, but I am looking for as standard a setting as possible with a few rule changes as possible. I will need to reference the 5E PHB as part of my Thesis, so altered rules would require further explanation to an audience that's already unfamiliar with how this works. In this case, I'm also not looking to play a 5E conversion of another narrative universe, so I would not participate in a game in the Witcher universe, for example.