PDA

View Full Version : How to Sketch Map of a small village

StylinLP38
September 18th, 2018, 23:21
Hello, I am new to GIMP and took one basic training class. I want to create a Sketch Map of a small village for my D&D game on Fantasy Grounds. But cannot seem to find artwork of medieval houses/buildings to from top down to populate the town. Also all other top down objects. I have Sketchy Cartographer brushes I downloaded and installed from Deviant Art website. But none of those are top down. Would these objects be brushes or stamps or something else? Premade house from rooftop. Any recommendations?

Also, I need to make hill sides and dirt streets and paths. Is there a set of textures I can find?

Trenloe
September 18th, 2018, 23:25
https://www.vintyri.org/vintyri/vccindex.htm

And also the other two collections on that website - CSUAC and Bogies mapping objects.

StylinLP38
September 18th, 2018, 23:37
Awesome! Vintyri Cartographic Collection looks good. Thank you

StylinLP38
September 18th, 2018, 23:44
Question: Do people load ALL their thousands of brushes at same time or do they only load the ones they need for each project? If so, how do you organize that. Because all I do is copy paste the .abr file into the GIMP brushes folder..

C:\Program Files\GIMP 2\share\gimp\2.0\brushes\Sketchy-Cartography-Brushes.abr

Skillkoil
September 19th, 2018, 00:39
I set up brush "sets" and depending on what I am making I will switch to the set that I think will give me what I need. Granted, some brushes are in every set.

StylinLP38
September 19th, 2018, 02:30
OK down loaded all those brushed and textures. It seems I will need farm fields. the kind I saw in CC3+. Not just textures but they are stamps. I tried unsuccessfully searching google and Deviant Art

StylinLP38
September 22nd, 2018, 04:58