PDA

View Full Version : Ruleset Variety

garrion_sw
August 28th, 2018, 04:10
I'm sorry if this post is a duplication of another someplace else, but I'm wondering about the variety of rulesets available for FG. Let me state that I think FG has made some tremendous progress recently acquiring partnerships with several game publishers for officially supported rulesets. I run a variety of games and even with CoreRPG I have a hard time playing those games when another VTT has customized sheets for that system all ready to go. In many instances I would prefer to just use FG but the ease of jumping into it makes the other VTT more appealing.

I am not a programmer though I have played around with it some when playing Frankenstein with other code. My primary inquiry is this: Why do other VTT programs have such a variety of custom sheets for popular, but not mainstream games compared to FG? Is something inherently more difficult in customizing a character sheet in FG than the other programs? Is it a lack of fan base interest in those game systems? I see threads on the forums from time to time about someone developing a ruleset sheet for one of the games I use but then it dies out with only partial development. I know it is a lot of work and believe me if I had more skill I would be in there helping. I don't want to benefit for free from other's hard work. I would be willing to pay for more supported rulesets.

A few of the systems in mind are: Star Wars/Genesys, Conan 2d20, Infinity 2d20, Star Trek 2d20, Traveller 2.0 (I know this is supposed to be in the works), GURPS, Dungeon World, City of Mist, 7th Sea 2.0, Shadow of the Demon Lord, Mutant Year Zero, Coriolis, Tales from the Loop, Fragged Empire, Symbaroum, and a few others.