PDA

View Full Version : Call of Cthulhu Dice

ransolot
August 28th, 2018, 03:06
Ok, so since I started playing Call of Cthulhu, it turns out I've been reading my d100 rolls wrong. And, to be blunt, that is because of the way Fantasy Grounds reads the dice. If you look at the picture I have attached, it shows a result of 80 on the 10's dice and 10 on the ones dice. Shouldn't that just be a zero on the ones dice making the result 80? Everywhere I've read, that's the way it should be. But on Fantasy Grounds, it reads it as a 90 because there is a 10 on the ones dice. Am I missing something or is this something that needs to be fixed within Fantasy Grounds?

Trenloe
August 28th, 2018, 03:15
This has been discussed many, many times over the years. Do a site search for " percentile rolls" to read about it all...

It is purely a dice convention that was decided upon by the original devs many years ago. Some people have percentile dice with 10's instead of 0's and they choose to add the 1-10 to the tens dice. It's a convention that has become less and less over the years, but it still is a dice convention and the one used in FG.

damned
August 28th, 2018, 05:38
There is no difference in the possible combinations or in the odds of any particular number.
As Trenloe says - its not the commonly used dice syntax we use today (00-90 and 0-9) but it is a valid standard.

Ampersandrew
August 31st, 2018, 13:22
There is no difference in the possible combinations or in the odds of any particular number.
As Trenloe says - its not the commonly used dice syntax we use today (00-90 and 0-9) but it is a valid standard.

This is the first time I've come across this standard, but I think it's much better than the way I've been rolling percentile dice over the years. It has always annoyed me that 00 & 1–9 gives numbers in the range 1–9, but 00 and 0 gives 100.

damned
August 31st, 2018, 14:24