PDA

View Full Version : Improvisation and Fantasy Grounds

Reynard203
August 25th, 2018, 15:13
Some background: I am your typical "started with the Metzner Red Box" Gen-X DM, so I have been running D&D in its various incarnations for 30+ years. A few years ago, I started running games at conventions for the first time and after some early growing pains, I developed a style where I run an ongoing, miniature "con campaign" over the course of the convention. That is, maybe 4 to 6 four hour sessions that all lead into one another. Usually it is the form of some kind of exploration based game, rather than a "story" based one (though story certainly emerges out of that play) and is largely improvisational in nature. I make stuff up on the fly, use random charts and grab small prepared bits (a decontextualized encounter or map or scene or whatever). This is the way I generally run D&D, just compressed into a single weekend rather than over the course of a year.

A couple of years ago I started running 5E using FG. I ran my first campaign as I described above and frankly it did not go great. In addition to allowing too many players (9 or 10 most sessions!) I had trouble adapting my style to the VTT. After a little break, I ran Storm King's Thunder for a while and, as usual, I bounced off the pre-written adventure pretty hard. I have never enjoyed running big, campaign long adventures (I am okay with smaller stuff to fill in spaces in a longer campaign). After ANOTHER break, I am getting back to it with a new Eberron campaign now that the Wayfarer's Guide is out. I plan to use a combination of modules (we are starting with Sunless Citadel) and improvisational tomfoolery.