PDA

View Full Version : Cleaning Tiny PNGs?

Sigurd
April 18th, 2006, 04:27
So I've made a few tokens for my character.

I've carefully exported them from photoshop with a white transparency and a dither. Now I have ugly white pixels on the edges of my tokens.

What do people use to create\clean their tokens and get them ready for inclusion in the game?

Any secrets to share????

Sigurd

Griogre
April 18th, 2006, 04:52
Sigurd, I have little artistic knowledge. But I think your dithering may be messing you up. As far as I know dithering and transparency on the same layer do not mix well.

devinnight
April 18th, 2006, 05:20
If you have the option to save for web inside your version of Photoshop use that. Then choose PNG24 and transparency and you are good to go.

If you have set up your file with a white background, duplicate the background layer twice, then on the topmost layer, the one with the token delete all the white pixels. On the next layer down select all and delete, this will make the layer transparent. Then throw away the bakcground layer, making the transparent layer the new background.

Save for web and you should be good to go.

Also if you want to create drop shadows, creat a layer, draw in the shadow at 100% black. The make the layer opacity around 35%. That shadow will then overlay anything that you put the token on.

-D

initiatezao
April 18th, 2006, 06:06
In the layers palette if you double click on the background layer you can change the name to whatever you want and that unlocks the background for direct manipulation, including transparencies.

You can then use the magic wand tool to select the pixels you want to remove then delete them, changing the tolerence number as needed to select more or less pixels. Once you have the selection around token you can use select feather to give it a softer edge when deleting. Or you can use defringe sometimes under the layer>matting>defringe that can help to soften the edges up a little.