PDA

View Full Version : Looking up API calls?

Varsuuk
March 26th, 2018, 01:25
I am just getting started and I went to add a pair of "rest" subitems to the character radial menu.

I see that it appears to be:
registerMenuItem(string-description, icon-to-use, Location?Index?[, SubLocation?Index?])

But I searched in the rulesets and did not find these. I looked in the Interface section of Wiki and I found the command "openRadialMenu" but nothing else. Further searching may find it but I need to do a few things before I can continue on this so figured I'd ask ahead of time should I not find this.

Is there some location on web page or in the Fantasy Grounds folder where I can search on function names to see description or if not, at least the interface/params? Or is it the Wiki plus a forum "updates" page? Or?

------

Lastly, as a bonus question that may become self-evident as I get more than 2 hours into coding ;) - if I made a similar method to that found in char.lua for 5e I can easily differentiate between a 1 day rest & full rest. However, if I wanted to add another entry to the radial for N-Days rest and have the handler popup some way to get a number from the user - what existing Core/3.5/5e/PF/SW/C&C/ADDCore etc ruleset file/method can I look at for inspiration?

Thanks all

Trenloe
March 26th, 2018, 01:42
But I searched in the rulesets and did not find these.
Which ruleset?

TIP: Extract your ruleset PAKs to a directory somewhere (ideally not in the FG rulesets directory, unless you call it something other than the ruleset name - perhaps 5e_temp or something so that FG doesn't think it is actually a ruleset). Then use a file editor that has "find in files" functionality. Searching for registerMenuItem in the 5E ruleset gives lots of hits.

For example in campaign\scripts\char.lua:

registerMenuItem(Interface.getString("menu_rest"), "lockvisibilityon", 8);
registerMenuItem(Interface.getString("menu_restshort"), "pointer_cone", 8, 8);