PDA

View Full Version : Forbidden Lands Mechanic



neuralnoise
March 11th, 2018, 09:22
https://s3.amazonaws.com/pmgr-stg/projects/3107/project-logo.png?1508878848

https://image.noelshack.com/minis/2018/10/7/1520756179-screenshot0002.png (https://www.noelshack.com/2018-10-7-1520756179-screenshot0002.png) https://image.noelshack.com/minis/2018/10/7/1520756179-screenshot0003.png (https://www.noelshack.com/2018-10-7-1520756179-screenshot0003.png) https://image.noelshack.com/minis/2018/10/7/1520756179-screenshot0005.png (https://www.noelshack.com/2018-10-7-1520756179-screenshot0005.png) http://image.noelshack.com/minis/2018/51/2/1545118726-screenshot0002.png (http://www.noelshack.com/2018-51-2-1545118726-screenshot0002.png)

Thanks to ianmward, you can find his original extension for Mutant Year Zero here : https://www.fantasygrounds.com/forums/showthread.php?28287-Mutant-Year-Zero-Dice-Mechanic

The extension : https://www.dropbox.com/s/7pzzho9iygt71uj/ForbiddenLands.ext?dl=0
The charsheet : https://www.dropbox.com/s/79s38v5i4upvxl3/charsheet%20Forbidden%20Lands.zip?dl=0

The tutorial (some glitch noise, sorry): https://www.dropbox.com/s/4khf9oxpmjkjw4w/Forbidden%20Lands%20tutorial.mp4?dl=0

9littlebees
June 3rd, 2018, 16:32
Hi! Your extension link is broken - it goes to the MP4 tutorial.

ONEone
June 7th, 2018, 22:05
Is there any way for damage to be taken into account on the character sheet? It would be excellent if that number field tracked current damage and then reduced that number of dice that got sent to the dice pool window. i honestly don't know what is possible since i'm not a programmer. but maybe you've got a way to integrate that. otherwise it's pretty useful. the push command is great!

neuralnoise
June 8th, 2018, 05:46
I'm sure it's possible, but it's completly out of my skills, sorry :(

neuralnoise
August 18th, 2018, 18:41
Update : adding a track of WP

neuralnoise
December 13th, 2018, 15:47
I made a quick NPC sheet yesterday.

I'll try an advanced with attributs & skills dice like the PC sheet.

neuralnoise
December 16th, 2018, 12:33
Could someone explain to me how to do on the NPC sheet so that the attributes and skills can be used as on the character sheet? Is it just possible?

damned
December 16th, 2018, 13:37
Could someone explain to me how to do on the NPC sheet so that the attributes and skills can be used as on the character sheet? Is it just possible?

MoreCore and Rolls

neuralnoise
December 18th, 2018, 06:50
https://s1.qwant.com/thumbr/0x380/0/8/67666d2120a7ecf26cd62c939be5c5b8225a02718f0431310f fcea1b491f64/tenor.gif?u=https%3A%2F%2Fmedia.tenor.com%2Fimages %2Fb5b525642d31fc32571618da55f973e5%2Ftenor.gif&q=0&b=1&p=0&a=1

Thanks a lot. Job done for this extension I think. See the last screenshot for explanation

damned
December 18th, 2018, 13:58
nice...thx ;-)

Bye bye

hawkwind
January 6th, 2019, 13:20
just trying this extension out now , I had some trouble loading it till i realised it was an extension for core-rpg and not Morecore as I initially presumed, is this your intention?



Great work by the way

hawkwind
January 6th, 2019, 14:40
if your intention is for this not to be Morecore extension the ability to roll d66 tables would be useful

neuralnoise
January 8th, 2019, 13:11
The base intention was to use a native ruleset. I'll take a look to add d66 tables in the extension.

hawkwind
January 8th, 2019, 15:03
you can make 1d66 rolls from the chat window currently, I just can't see a way to get the roll into the custom dice box of a table, you can do it in morecore by dragging a d60 dice after right clicking on a d6 and the clicking on the custom dice option

hawkwind
January 8th, 2019, 15:31
ha just hacked your extension to work in MoreCore, works a treat though the character sheet is combined more core plus your sheet for Forbidden lands, you can know use d66 in tables

I can start making those critical injury tables!

neuralnoise
January 8th, 2019, 21:10
I add the d60 from Morecore in the custom dice radial.

Enjoy.

hawkwind
January 9th, 2019, 10:20
thanks I'll give it a test tonight, looking forward to setting up the critical injuries tables

hawkwind
January 13th, 2019, 10:05
the d66 doesnt work in the table but dragging a d60 then a d6 does

I have attached some critical injury tables

damned
January 13th, 2019, 10:45
d66 will always be 1-66
you need to use d60+d6 for that

neuralnoise
January 14th, 2019, 11:58
Update because of (MYZ extension thread (https://www.fantasygrounds.com/forums/showthread.php?47069-Extension-FG3-(CoreRPG)-Mutant-Year-Zero))

This is lovely but my gear dice symbol is superimposed over the standard dice graphic so you cannot select it.
I think there is a problem with the radial menu. I renamed the d60 to d65 to have it at the bottom. Unfortunately, the d65's name will be dispatch everywhere you drop the die (d65 so, in tables for example).

eldrin81
January 26th, 2019, 14:49
Downloaded and installed this extension. It doesn't seem to echo the dice to the chat window the way your screenshots show, with colored dice graphics. It's just regular looking dice with the numbers offset to the left.

neuralnoise
January 26th, 2019, 15:40
Did you follow the tutorial on 1st message?

eldrin81
January 27th, 2019, 14:31
Thx. Didn't realize you had to right click on the d6 to select colored custom dice to drag to the sheet. However the /push command functionality is not per the rules in the book. It rerolls all the dice instead of just the dice that rolled 3-5.

pg 44 of the Forbidden lands PHB
"If you are desperate to succeed with a dice roll,
you can choose to push it. This means that you
grab all the dice that did not come up as a six
(x) or a one (l) and roll them again. You get a
new chance to roll x.
You cannot choose which dice to reroll."

Also Total weight is not auto calculating. Granted that the system uses a slot based, but in effect it can work out to each item having a weight of either .5 for light items, 1 for regular items etc.

neuralnoise
January 27th, 2019, 19:33
The /push (developped by ianward) work. Actually, the dice are just not distribued in the same order than the first roll.

In MYZ and FBL you push the 2-5 on Base and Gear dice and 1-5 on Skill Dice.

I'll take a look for auto calculating encumbrance.

neuralnoise
February 4th, 2019, 19:42
Add Spells listing.

Valyar
March 1st, 2019, 18:16
To my surprise, I will run my first Forbidden Lands game next week. Some of the players are spoiled by the commercial rulesets and my custom extensions & modules, so I spend good part of my morning to prepare for the incoming game. After I was done preparing the realm in Realm Works, I got my *** working on updating this extension, because I found several things that I thought need refresh. It is mainly cosmetic update, nothing fancy, but I would like to share if someone plays this wonderful retro survival roleplaying game.

Attached is my version of the extension, it is v1.7 , which is backward compatible with existing games, but please save if you plan to use :)

Changes:

Added Skills library - simple text containers
Added Spells library - simple text containters, can be dragged to Spells section in character sheet
Added Talents library - simple text containers; can be dragged to the Talents section in the character sheet
Updated Vehicles sidebar icon
New Talents sidebar icon
Character Sheet - Fixed width for the character sheet. Increased the starting height to accommodate the rolls box in the main tab
Main tab - enhanced with Rolls frame named "Frequently Used rolls". Players will be able to set up rolls for fast action compared to using the dicepool.
Abilities tab - Talents and Spells are properly anchored. Talents has increased but fixed height, while Spells automatically resizes vertically.
Abilities tab - Pride and Dark secret anchored and fixed in size.
Abilities tab - Condition checkboxes moved on the left for consistency. The frame is now resizing downwards.
Inventory tab - fixed the Consumables and Coins text boxes bug, where the text was duplicated between the boxes. Now the boxes are separate.
Notes tab - moved Languages and Reputation on the left of Relations.
NPC - Added scrollbar to dice roll window
Distance is now measured in zone. Diagonals are 1z as well.


Future plans (if time allows)

Add columns to the spells (Rank, Range, Duration, Ingredients)
Add columns to the items (Bonus, Damage, Range)
Find a way to auto calculate the encumbrance based on Forbidden Lands encumbrance system
Modify the frontpage to replace the default CoreRPG modifiable frame with FL specifics with more intelligence
Add Artifact Dice

vyruxx
March 6th, 2019, 21:46
Hello, How do you do to remove dice from the pool once put before shooting?

Valyar
March 7th, 2019, 07:07
There are two ways to remove things from the dice pool:

Clear the whole pool via the right-click context menu and selecting "Clear" in the option at ~5 o`clocl
Use the small "dots" below the Dice Pool text.


If you added the dice as I did in the example below, clicking the leftmost dot will remove the d4, the rightmost the d12 and the middle one, to no surprise, the d8. If you are adding the dice in batches (as it is in the Forbidden Lands), each dot represents the whole batch. You can't remove single die, only the whole batch.

https://www.fantasygrounds.com/forums/attachment.php?attachmentid=26599&stc=1&d=1551942160

vyruxx
March 7th, 2019, 20:55
I was referring to when you have negative dice as you remove them, without modifying the sheet

Valyar
March 8th, 2019, 06:57
You just add them by hand in the dice pool. By the rules, negative dice affect only the skill dice. When you end up in this situation, you add the Base and Gear dice from the sheet to the pool and then manually add the Skill dice. The d6 on the dice bar has Base, Skill and Gear as custom die type.

I have plan to see if I can edit the code and use the Modifier box to remove skill dice from the equation, but this side task will be next month, as I am traveling a lot and have no time for this.

Izae
September 20th, 2019, 08:27
Hello.

J'ai un problême avec le menu radial du D6. Les dés de base et d'équipement fonctionnent bien mais si je clique sur le dé de compétence (rouge en bas à droite), ça me fait retourner en arrière...

Une idée de la cause du problême ?

neuralnoise
September 20th, 2019, 08:41
Bonjour Izae,

Le même problème a été soulevé sur l'extension Mutant Year Zero (https://www.fantasygrounds.com/forums/showthread.php?28287-Mutant-Year-Zero-Dice-Mechanic&p=450571&viewfull=1#post450571), il s'agirait d'un conflit avec CoreRPG (que je n'arrive pas à reproduire chez moi) où la version 3.3.8 ajouterai un d2 et un d3.

J'essayerai d'y jeter un oeil au plus vite.

Valyar
September 20th, 2019, 08:43
I am attaching updated extension that solves the problem with the d2 and d3 extra dice introduced in 3.3.8. I presume this is what you have been discussing.

neuralnoise
September 20th, 2019, 08:48
Yes indeed.

I'll update tonight both of my .ext (FBL & MYZ)

Izae
September 20th, 2019, 09:37
Problem solved !

Thank you guys, amazing quickness !

Dr0W
September 20th, 2019, 14:48
Hey, thanks for the extension!

How are you guys dealing with skill penalties and such?

Dr0W
September 25th, 2019, 07:11
Hey guys, I've kinda discovered Forbidden Lands a few days ago, and today I tried using this extension with MoreCore and so far I'm liking it better than just using CoreRPG. Here's a video of what it's looking like right now
https://youtu.be/zN1XKbcBfd4

Valyar
September 25th, 2019, 15:13
Hey guys, I've kinda discovered Forbidden Lands a few days ago, and today I tried using this extension with MoreCore and so far I'm liking it better than just using CoreRPG. Here's a video of what it's looking like right now
https://youtu.be/zN1XKbcBfd4
Looks very interesting, do you mind showing how you configured the parameters and the links between the different rolls? Have you modifier the charsheet's other tabs?

Dr0W
September 25th, 2019, 15:28
Looks very interesting, do you mind showing how you configured the parameters and the links between the different rolls? Have you modifier the charsheet's other tabs?

For Attributes I used "/pool (a)d61". Where (a) is the reference to the Attribute value on the Combat frame.

For Skills I used "/pool (a)d61+(p1)d62". Where (a) is the reference to the linked attribute, and (p1) is the parameter set on the skill.

For Weapons I used "/pool (a)d61+(b)d62+(p1)d63" Where (a) is the reference to the linked attribute (Str or Agi), and (b) is the reference to the relevant skill (Melee or Marksmanship), and (p1) is the weapon's parameter (it's rating)

I have not modified anything on the sheet, this was just a half an hour work but I might look into it. The only other thing I changed were the dice rolls that needed fixing after CoreRPG update, but that's it.

Valyar
September 25th, 2019, 15:47
Interesting. I might see how I can transfer my whole work done based on the extension I modfied to More Core. It seems I have just to insert the custom dice as MC extension and custom charsheet. I have all products of FL as modules for my extension and I have to find quick and dirty way to re-use the module. Have to add spells/skill/talents library to MC for this to work.

Food for thought :)

Dr0W
September 25th, 2019, 16:19
To be honest, what I actually did was just use your extension on MoreCore, and commented everything on the base extension except for those under Tabletop settings, and those under MYZ Dice mechanic. Extension-wise that's all.

Valyar
September 25th, 2019, 16:25
I have to check how MoreCore implements the additional libraries in the sidebar. The implementation I did for the CoreRPG might be incompatible straight without code change.
But I like what you showed, it is always good to have fresh view on something.

I am actually having Coriolis extension based on MoreCore and I went exactly your way with the rolls :)

victorhugo
October 1st, 2019, 04:24
That's really cool, but I'm not that good with programming. I don't know how to reproduce your current Character Sheet.

thwright
January 19th, 2020, 00:15
Is this (https://svn.fantasygrounds.com/forums/showthread.php?42832-Forbidden-Lands-Mechanic&p=453948&viewfull=1#post453948) the most up-to-date version of the extension?

Has there been any progress on moving this extension to MoreCore? If not, is there anything I can do to help?

Valyar
January 19th, 2020, 10:36
The conversion for MoreCore is done. This is the thread where I post the extension and the extra stuffs:
https://svn.fantasygrounds.com/forums/showthread.php?51242-Forbidden-Lands-(Extension-Theme-PC-and-NPC-sheets-for-MoreCore)

Elihu
February 21st, 2020, 06:19
How are you other GMs doing modifiers for rolls, for example if an archer has -2 to his attack due to range how do you actually adjust the rolls in Fantasy grounds? Right now all we can do is click on the icon for the attack and push but we have not found a way to +/- from those rolls, and we are not able to drag and drop rolls into the dice tower, or drag and drop them into the dice pool. We are able to drag and drop individual and groups of dice but not the dice strings inside the character sheets. BTW we are really enjoying Forbidden Lands. Thank you for developing the FBL mechanics.

Elihu
February 25th, 2020, 06:14
When I boot up FG with the FBL ext i get this error, anyone know why? Or how I can fix it.31760

damned
February 25th, 2020, 09:02
What version of CoreRPG does the ChatWindow report?

Elihu
February 26th, 2020, 06:26
What version of CoreRPG does the ChatWindow report?

maybe I need to update more core again.

31772

Valyar
February 26th, 2020, 06:29
maybe I need to update more core again.

31772

It seems you are using my extension from the other thread. I haven't tested it with the new version of the MoreCore and its updated interface. But what I read I assume is from the fact that I had to remove few of the default dice to make the context-menu working for the custom dice. I am pressed on time and will be able to check this probably during the weekend.

damned
February 26th, 2020, 06:42
That version of MoreCore is about a year old. Im pretty sure I removed some dice - the funky dice (DCC dice) from the custom menu - that might obviate the need for you to make changes Valyar.

Valyar
February 26th, 2020, 06:43
You are right... I did not notice the MC version :)

Elihu
February 26th, 2020, 07:47
It seems you are using my extension from the other thread. I haven't tested it with the new version of the MoreCore and its updated interface. But what I read I assume is from the fact that I had to remove few of the default dice to make the context-menu working for the custom dice. I am pressed on time and will be able to check this probably during the weekend.

We are really enjoying your Forbidden Lands extension, thanks so much for your work.

Do you know if there is a way to make a d66 table, also how did you guys do +/- x dice to an already existing dice string? For example attacking someone that is prone is +2 dice, how did you handle that?

To Damned, I realize that my more core is older version, I have a game session tomorrow, maybe after that is done I'll try the update with the FBL extension.

damned
February 26th, 2020, 08:03
drag a d60 and a d6 into the table then set the values.

Elihu
February 27th, 2020, 00:44
drag a d60 and a d6 into the table then set the values.

There does not appear to be a d60 theres only 3 special dice for the d6 ability die, skill die, and item die. I can put the command /die 1d60 in chat and it makes a number from 1-60 but that is not d66, I need to be able to drop the die into the table where dice are dropped in.

damned
February 27th, 2020, 03:05
There does not appear to be a d60 theres only 3 special dice for the d6 ability die, skill die, and item die. I can put the command /die 1d60 in chat and it makes a number from 1-60 but that is not d66, I need to be able to drop the die into the table where dice are dropped in.

right click the d6 and choose custom dice - you will see a d60 and d600 (or at least you do with MoreCore alone).

Valyar
February 27th, 2020, 06:37
I might have removed those in the extension. 2d6 is much more easier for FL tables and situations.

Yngvar
April 5th, 2020, 23:45
Hi there,

I am having some issues with the extension and the dice mechanic.

I was wondering if it's updated to work with the last version of CoreRPG.

Can anyone share some insight on this?

Thanks.

Hurske
April 6th, 2020, 16:12
It should be good, I am prepping for a game in a couple days and been running tests, all working on my end

Yngvar
April 6th, 2020, 17:02
Thanks, Hurske.

I decided to go back to MoreCoreRPG after trying to figure out why the dice mechanic was not working on CoreRPG.

I even downloaded the extension and it did not appear on my list of available extensions.

It is bizarre.

Elihu
April 6th, 2020, 17:12
I'm good to go, I didn't realize that a table didn't need dice dropped in and that you can just enter any number of results.

Valyar
April 6th, 2020, 19:39
The extension that is based on CoreRPG should be working fine even with the latest update, as the changes are not impacting the code and work done in it.

Jystdave
March 11th, 2021, 23:31
I can't get this extension working. It gets a bunch of errors when loading. Please help.