PDA

View Full Version : Restricting Access

Pandastic
March 9th, 2018, 22:43
Hello! I'm brand new to Fantasy Grounds and excited to start running a game for my group. I have quite a few questions, but let's start with these two.

Question #1: Is there anyway to lock character sheets? I have a few players who are technologically inept and during our trial encounters have already managed to alter their pregens. Which would be fine if they could even remember what they altered to revert the changes... So i was just wondering if I could avoid running into any issues by locking their sheets in some manner to prevent such accidents.

Question #2: Is there any way to limit what buttons (large) are available to my players? I'd rather my players not have access to my NPC's and Story.

Thanks!

Zacchaeus
March 9th, 2018, 23:09
Hi Pandastic welcome to FG.

1) No. just like the paper and pencil version the character sheet is fully editable.

2) Even though the players have all the buttons they cannot see your Story or NPCs, unless you have shared them with your players which obviously you should not do.

Edit: you can save the characters once complete (click the brown button at the bottom of the PC window and then on the blue arrows beside each PC). That way you can have a copy if you ever need to get back to the original.

Pandastic
March 10th, 2018, 00:04
Thanks so much Zacchaeus! Didn't know you could save a copy which is actually better in my case. As for the second questions I must have given them access by mistake.

mlesnews
March 10th, 2018, 00:34
Players are supposed to manage their own character sheets as well as export backups. Teach them early on how to put everything in each tab, including helping them fill out effects coding in the action tab. I have a directory set aside in Google Drive specifically for their characters and after the initial creation. I export the sheets after every by session#-mm-dd-yyyy.

damned
March 10th, 2018, 02:10