PDA

View Full Version : Only one client with demo license can connect to my ultimate server at a time

nickabbey
March 9th, 2018, 20:30
So first off, I am a long time IT professional with 25 years of experience in networking and desktop support and OS management. Not saying that out of hubris or anything, just letting responders know that there's no need to sugar coat any technical responses to my questions.

I am volunteering as a GM for a youth program at a local library. Their network is a huge mess. The network is owned by the town and the network admin doesn't work for the library directly, is never available when I'm there, and doesn't actually know what they're doing (they're a desktop support person for the town that hates having to be responsible for the library network and doesn't respond to any requests for support or assistance).
So I'm kind of on my own on this one and really need some help finding a work around.

My tabletop is running on a Mac. I did not use the mac installer (it wasn't available when I started with FG), but I keep my wineskin and wine up to date. Players on windows and mac machines connect to me and I am able to use a second install in a different wineskin to connect locally via 127.0.0.1. It works flawlessly when I run my table from home, people are able to connect to my machine over the internet using my alias or while on my local home network via IP address or alias. So I know the issue isn't on my machine specifically.