PDA

View Full Version : Suggestions for 5e E-book access outside of FG

Varatta
March 8th, 2018, 23:51
Hey all, So I'm new to FG and very excited to be getting my old group back together (now spread across the globe). I am struggling with something and wanted to get your advice:

I have NO 5e books but we want to play 5e. Great! I can either get the books (doesn't really suit my lifestyle at the moment) or D&D Beyond or just rely on FG.

Dilemma: I'd like to be able to read the books from a tablet or something but I don't think FG lets me do that - even with the reference manuals. At the moment I feel like my only option is to buy the books or get them on D&D Beyond (which would allow my players to also use them outside of when we're on FG together). But my goodness the expense!!!

Has anyone found a good solution to this other than downloading scanned PDFs (which I'd really prefer not to do for a few reasons)?

At the moment I feel like buying the books twice (in some form) feels like an inevitability.

Thanks for your input!

PS: This is where an FG app - maybe incorporating forums and reference materials would be REALLY handy!

JohnD
March 9th, 2018, 00:04
Hard for FG to do this when WotC doesn't allow it aside from D&D Beyond.

damned
March 9th, 2018, 01:46
Hi Varatta,

You will have to find the medium that works best for you.
I have some of the 5e books in physical format and in FG format.
I use them waaaaay more in FG format.
The single most important book in any event is the Players Handbook. Start with that in whatever format or formats you choose.

ddavison
March 9th, 2018, 01:52
Hello Varatta,