PDA

View Full Version : Send command to chat after each attack

Oso Buho
March 1st, 2018, 15:32
Hi adventurers!

I'm quite new to FG development (even though I'm a developer myself since 1998) and would like to know if it's remotely possible to send a command to the chat - or to the system... what I want to is to do a /save - after each attack that happens.

Is it viable or are extensions blocked from accessing those type of functions?

Thanks

Trenloe
March 1st, 2018, 15:35
Welcome to the forums!

I don't think there's a way to force a campaign DB save through scripting.

And, to be honest, you wouldn't want to do this regularly. Once the campaign DB gets large you'd encounter system delays and slow downs doing a save after every attack. It would make the GM's FG instance (And so everyone's instance) slow down considerably - especially during a fairly system intensive action processing.

I'm curious as to why you'd want to do this? Do you have an issue you're trying to work around? FG issues the save command automatically every 5 minutes anyway...

Oso Buho
March 1st, 2018, 16:29
Welcome to the forums!

I don't think there's a way to force a campaign DB save through scripting.

And, to be honest, you wouldn't want to do this regularly. Once the campaign DB gets large you'd encounter system delays and slow downs doing a save after every attack. It would make the GM's FG instance (And so everyone's instance) slow down considerably - especially during a fairly system intensive action processing.

I'm curious as to why you'd want to do this? Do you have an issue you're trying to work around? FG issues the save command automatically every 5 minutes anyway...

Thanks for your response Trenloe.

Basically I want to access the characters wound status after each attack to add a "visual representation" to my streams.

I've seen that the only place where I can get that value somehow updated is in the db.xml file... but only after the campaign has been save.

Trenloe