PDA

View Full Version : What do I need to purchase in order to join a starfinder game?

AlanCole
February 23rd, 2018, 21:53
So I've looked around and I don't believe this has been answered anywhere. I'm very new to virtural table-top systems and I am trying to determine which one will be the best fit. I read on the homepage of FantasyGrounds site that to join an "ultimate" hosted game, you can do that for free. Is this the case to join an "ultimate" hosted "StarFinder" game or is this in relation to the base module that come with the program? Or does every player have to purchase the StarFinder module?

On one hand, it seems like the GM or host would purchase the ultimate subscription and purchase the StarFinder rules module in order to create the campaign. And then the players could, either using the demo license or standard license, then connect to the ultimate hosted campaign and play.

Or do *All the player have to purchase at least the standard license AND the StarFinder rules module in order to connect to the ultimate hosted campaign?

Any help in clearing this up for me would be greatly appreciated. Thanks!

Zacchaeus
February 23rd, 2018, 21:58
Hi Alan, welcome to FG.

If the DM has an Ultimate license then they can host any other type of license holder including demo users. If the host has a Standard license then you will need a Standard license too.

As a player you have no need to purchase any content since the DM will share any material with you in order for you to create a character. Only the DM needs to buy the ruleset.

Trenloe
February 23rd, 2018, 21:59
Welcome to the forums.

If you find a GM running a Starfinder game with an Ultimate FG license then you don’t need to buy anything. Install the free FG demo and join their game.

If the GM has a standard license then you will need a standard license as well.

That’s it.

AlanCole
February 23rd, 2018, 22:37