PDA

View Full Version : Community Wiki

Minty23185Fresh
February 10th, 2018, 15:11
This may be a can of worms that has already been discussed (though I couldn't find it):

Has SmiteWorks considered hosting a wiki for community member contributions?

I realize there are a lot of pros and cons to such a project, but it might be worthwhile. I tend to research things to death as I work toward adding functionality to an extension. If I post my research findings in the forums hoping to help others in the future they quickly disappear as they lose temporal relevancy. Or are polluted with non pertinent digressive discussion. Take a look at the Parse5E thread(s) sometime! I completely gave up on the tool after a few hours of wading through that miasma on non information.

I've seen questions and comments here in the Workshop regarding the difficulty of finding "documented code". A community wiki might be an answer.

JML
February 10th, 2018, 15:19
I'm quite new to the software and community, and there's so much I still have to learn, but I've got the same feeling as Minty.

LordEntrails
February 10th, 2018, 15:43
IMO, there is already a Wiki that can and should be used. The problem is that it is too closely "guarded". I don't know if there were problems in the past with people getting into issues with making poor changes to each others work, but, I would like to see the wiki opened up to most everyone who wants to be able to edit content there.

Maybe wait until someone gets 100 posts or some level, but, the current response of well, just send someone the text of what you want updated and we'll update it really isn't a good solution. That puts a roadblock in the way and adds work to both someone who wants to help and to the people who then need to make the update.