PDA

View Full Version : How to properly write if effects

belkasro
January 7th, 2018, 05:54
I have been trying to get my IF effects to work. I've been scouring the forums and no luck as of yet. Trying to start with protection from evil effect.

If evil undead is attacking while having protection from evil up. Player gets +2 bonuses applied only when evil undead is attacking the character.

Non working Effect
IF: ALIGN: CE; TYPE: undead; AC: 2; SAVE: 2

damned
January 7th, 2018, 06:10
Without knowing teh rest of the syntax CE is not the correct usage for Evil.

You want something like:
IF: ALIGN (evil);

LordEntrails
January 7th, 2018, 06:11
I'm not an expert on effects, but I can point you toward two things;
1) Check the Wiki on effects. General IF/IFT should be there.
2) I think you are going to have to use the "custom" effect and use two effects, one for the undead and one for the protection spell. There was recently a thread or two (maybe in 5E) about ... Hunter's Mark? that detailed how to do this.

See;
- https://www.fantasygrounds.com/forums/showthread.php?40057-Question-about-applying-Hunter-s-Mark
- https://www.fantasygrounds.com/wiki/index.php/3.5E_Effects

Also, this has the right topic, but not sure it's what you need; https://www.fantasygrounds.com/forums/showthread.php?23926-Effects-help-Protection-from-Evil-and-Hunter-s-Mark

belkasro
January 7th, 2018, 06:22
IF: ALIGN (evil); SAVE: 2; AC: 2; or not quite right?

Zacchaeus
January 7th, 2018, 08:59
Th IF statement can’t be chained as in your first example so you can’t make two tests in the one line. Secondly the IF statement tests for a condition that is on the actor that the effect is sitting on. So if this effect is sitting on a player it is testing for the player’s alignment. So you want the IFT: statement which tests the target to see if it has the appropriate conditions.

So we get IFT: TYPE(undead); AC: 2; SAVE: 2