PDA

View Full Version : Trying to HOST and GM, Player(s) cannot connect.

mikewizard
January 2nd, 2018, 12:51
Title says it all. I'm new to the FG product. Trying to allow players to connect to my server.

Every time I run 'TEST' it returns as failure.

Help requested.

damned
January 2nd, 2018, 13:02
Hi mikewizard you are going to have to provide more info.
What have you tried?

For the connection test to succeed the Fantasy Grounds server is going to attempt to connect to your computer on TCP port 1802.
Anything in the way of this could be causing your issue.

1. Your windows firewall must allow the fantasygrounds application to communicate and to receive communications
2. Your router must allow connections to come in from outside your network to your computer on TCP 1802

That is a simplified overview of the requirements.
What is your setup and what have you tried?

mikewizard
January 3rd, 2018, 01:29
I'm in the process of procuring the password and ID for my router. admin / admin not working though.

damned
January 3rd, 2018, 01:58
If your ISP manages your router give them your local PC LAN IP Address and ask them to port forward TCP 1802 to your computer on TCP1802 and to give your computer a DHCP reservation or static lease.

mikewizard
January 3rd, 2018, 02:00
Ok appreciate the advice. Can you please explain to me exactly what this all does/means so in the future I have a better grasp of the situation?

I'm not exactly sure what DHC / Statis Lease means.

damned
January 3rd, 2018, 02:08
Ok appreciate the advice. Can you please explain to me exactly what this all does/means so in the future I have a better grasp of the situation?

I'm not exactly sure what DHC / Statis Lease means.

DHCP (my apologies)
On your network you can connect a device and it will automatically receive an address from the router so that it can participate on the network.
(This was not always the case - DHCP for TCP/IP was a big deal when it was introduced.)