PDA

View Full Version : Newbie question: Export to PDF

Tovrin
December 22nd, 2017, 09:30
Hi folks,

I'm still a newbie to Fantasy Grounds and I'm trying to use it purely to plan and document my tabletop campaign. I'm not sure my group is entirely ready to leave the whole pen-and-paper scene quite yet. We're still pretty "old school".

I'd like to use FG to store characters and create player handouts ... as a stepping stone to perhaps running a campaign within FG itself. Is it possible to create PDF exports from FG? Character? Story elements? Homebrew spells and races? That kind of thing ....

Zacchaeus
December 22nd, 2017, 09:59
Hi Torvin and welcome to FG.

You can't do this kind of thing natively. The campaign is stored as an XML file in the campaign folder of your FGData folder. If you can find a program which translates this into a pdf then you could create a pdf. I suspect this would require you to sit down and do some programming.
For NPCs have a look at NPC engineer (https://www.fantasygrounds.com/forums/showthread.php?40736-NPC-Engineer-now-with-full-parsing!) and for characters there's a couple of XML to pdf thingies (https://www.fantasygrounds.com/forums/showthread.php?22440-5E-Character-sheet-from-XML) around.

LordEntrails
December 22nd, 2017, 16:52
You can export characters as XML and then their are a few ways to print those to PDF (as Mr. Z mentions).

DLC content (such as anything you purchase) can not be exported (to protect it). If you have created your own story entries then you can access the xml for those entries, but their is no way currently get that into a useable PDF format. Myself with the help of another user on the forums have experimented a little bit with converting the FG XML into a viewable (Word or PDF) format, but it is not trivial. And results in something that still requires a lot of editing.

FG_Dave
December 22nd, 2017, 20:22
Thanks Zacc and Lord.

Tovrin
December 22nd, 2017, 21:20
Thanks guys.