PDA

View Full Version : Extension and Module Conversion



flekhabren
November 27th, 2017, 05:26
I have built a module and an extension to tweak things in the old BRP rule set. I just purchased Coc 7e thinking it could port over and have a better system behind it.

I'm at a bit of a loss however. The BRP had an entry in the ruleset folder that could be expanded into a folder and modified to create a new extension. Coc seems to have the info all in the vault leaving nothing to be viewed for tweaking purposes.

That being said I'm not sure where to go to get the base for creating an extension. additionally I'm not sure what changes to make to my module to get it to show up for Coc 7e

damned
November 27th, 2017, 09:44
To make an extension show up for CoC7e use the

<ruleset>
<name>CallOfCthulhu7E</name>
</ruleset>

The ruleset is locked however so accessing the ruleset wholesale is not possible.
If you wanted something specific it might be able to be shared with you.

flekhabren
November 27th, 2017, 14:31
Thanks, I'll see if that's enough

here are my top items:
1)have a custom set of skills different from Coc
2)add race to the personal tab
3)remove (or rename) EDU from the main tab
4)load the module for custom spells and occupations.

flekhabren
November 27th, 2017, 16:20
To make an extension show up for CoC7e use the

<ruleset>
<name>CallOfCthulhu7E</name>
</ruleset>


It wasnt that easy, the scripts conflict and wasnt really usable. these are the errors it showed, but there may be more to it than these.

Script Error: [string "scripts/myqscript.lua"]:431: attempt to index global 'LineManager' (a nil value)
Ruleset Error: Panel (shortcuts) defined with a class (gmshortcuts) that does not exist.
Ruleset Error: desktop: Panel (characterlist) anchoring to uninitialized target panel (shortcuts)
Ruleset Error: desktop: Panel (identitylist) anchoring to uninitialized target panel (shortcuts)
Ruleset Error: desktop: Panel (characterlist) anchoring to uninitialized target panel (shortcuts)
Ruleset Error: desktop: Panel (identitylist) anchoring to uninitialized target panel (shortcuts)

flekhabren
November 27th, 2017, 16:20
(removed)

Trenloe
November 27th, 2017, 16:33
BRP is not compatible with Call of Cthulhu. You won't be able to directly use the BRP extension. You'll need to redesign it in CoreRPG/Call of Cthulhu.

flekhabren
November 27th, 2017, 17:05
so, for example, if I were to copy the record_char_notes.xml i could edit that and rename it record_char_personal.xml and that would make the Coc 7e personal tab have the fields from the CoreRPG notes tab on their respective character sheets?

Trenloe
November 27th, 2017, 17:08
so, for example, if I were to copy the record_char_notes.xml i could edit that and rename it record_char_personal.xml and that would make the Coc 7e personal tab have the fields from the CoreRPG notes tab on their respective character sheets?
Not really. File names don't tell FG what to do or where to load data. It is the names of the window classes/controls within the XML files that determine what definitions get used where.

Information on assets here: https://www.fantasygrounds.com/wiki/index.php/Developer_Guide_-_Rulesets_-_Assets

More information on modifying the CoreRPG ruleset here: https://www.fantasygrounds.com/forums/showthread.php?20651-Modifying-the-CoreRPG-ruleset

flekhabren
November 27th, 2017, 17:11
More information on modifying the CoreRPG ruleset here: https://www.fantasygrounds.com/forums/showthread.php?20651-Modifying-the-CoreRPG-ruleset

Is there one of those for Call of Cthulhu 7e? I'm assuming not from other things I've read.

flekhabren
November 27th, 2017, 17:15
BRP is not compatible with Call of Cthulhu. You won't be able to directly use the BRP extension. You'll need to redesign it in CoreRPG/Call of Cthulhu.

I dont have the older Call of Cthulhu rule set, would the files with it have the skill list example so I could modify it for an extension to 7e?

Trenloe
November 27th, 2017, 17:42
I dont have the older Call of Cthulhu rule set, would the files with it have the skill list example so I could modify it for an extension to 7e?
You will have to request access to the 7e files. Only work against the ruleset you want to develop against, don't use other ruleset files.

flekhabren
November 27th, 2017, 17:45
here are my top items:
1)have a custom set of skills different from Coc
2)add race to the personal tab
3)remove (or rename) EDU from the main tab
4)load a module for custom spells and occupations.

I shall await further guidance then, thanks for all of your help so far.

damned
November 27th, 2017, 23:52
Im sorry flekhabren but the CoC7E files are locked and I cant share them wholesale.
The changes that you are looking to do would require more knowledge of the ruleset.
One thing you can do is open the ruleset in 7zip
You cant view the file contents but you can view the file names.
It may help you but I dont think you will be able to do all the things you want.

You might find that using MoreCore might be a less elegant solution but much easier to achieve the outcomes you want.
If you use MoreCore - use an extension to customise it - there are plenty of examples.
If you need new dice mechanics you can create those and we can roll them into the base too.

flekhabren
November 28th, 2017, 14:12
No worries, I get that. Is there one (or two) items from my list that would be doable with a limited bit of the files or ruleset that I could use in an extension?

I probably wont look into MoreCore, but I appreciate the suggestion. I think if I am not able to load a mod or make an extension for CoC 7e I'll go back to the BRP set I've got and get over it.

*added 11/28
I tinkered around and I got the manual portion of my module to load into Coc7e, none of the tables or things work because of reference names, but a lot of the info is viewable at least. I think if I knew the format and reference of the spells in Coc I could do that part pretty easily.

in BRP I was using powertype heading and link class reference_powersummary. I copied those from an example power in the BRP ruleset. could I get the xml for 1 skill and 1 spell from the CoC 7e ruleset? (like whats in the library listing)

damned
November 28th, 2017, 21:06
<id-00032>
<listlink type="windowreference">
<class>spell</class>
<recordname>spell.id-00032@Call of Cthulhu 7e</recordname>
</listlink>
<name type="string">Contact Gnoph-Keh</name>
</id-00032>


<id-00032>
<castingtime type="string">1D6 + 4 rounds</castingtime>
<cost type="string">6 Magic points; 1D3 Sanity points (plus more to view the monster)</cost>
<locked type="number">1</locked>
<name type="string">Contact Gnoph-Keh</name>
<text type="formattedtext">
<p>Unless there are no gnoph-keh nearby, it succeeds automatically. Gnoph-keh are usually found in Greenland or other frozen wastes near the North Pole.</p>
<p>The spell must be augmented with a successful Sing (Art & Craft specialism) roll and before doing so the caster must build a small effigy of the beast from ice and snow.</p>
<linklist>
<link class="spell" recordname="spell.id-00025@Call of Cthulhu 7e">Contact Spells</link>
</linklist>
</text>
<type type="string">Contact</type>
</id-00032>



<id-spothidden>
<default type="number">25</default>
<displayname type="string">Spot Hidden</displayname>
<hasspecializations type="number">0</hasspecializations>
<isuncommon type="number">0</isuncommon>
<locked type="number">1</locked>
<name type="string">Spot Hidden</name>
<specializationlist>
</specializationlist>
<text type="formattedtext">
<p>This skill allows the user to spot a secret door or compartment, notice a hidden intruder, find an inconspicuous clue, recognize a repainted automobile, become aware of ambushers, notice a bulging pocket, or anything similar. This is an important skill in the armory of an investigator.</p>
<p>If a character has only a fleeting chance to spot something, perhaps while running past it, the Keeper may raise the level of difficulty. If the character is conducting a thorough search, the Keeper might award an automatic success. The difficulty level might also be adapted to re ect the environment, it being harder to spot something in a cluttered room.</p>
<p><b>Opposing skill/Difficulty level:</b></p>
<p>When searching for a character who is hiding, the opponent’s Stealth skill is used to set the di culty level for the roll.</p>
<list>
<li>Regular difficulty: searching a room for clues.</li>
<li>Hard difficulty: searching for something that has been purposefully well hidden.</li>
</list>
<p><b>Pushing examples: </b>taking more time to observe the area; pulling the place apart; dismantling the furniture and smashing the porcelain statuettes.</p>
<p><b>Sample Consequences of failing a Pushed roll: </b>inadvertently drop something of your own while searching, which will make it clear that you have been there (the investigator will not realize this at the time); you fail to the spot the paw print in the mud and are surprised when the red-eyed beast leaps at you from the trees; while you managed to find a clue, you didn’t notice the cultists arriving home.</p>
<p>If an insane investigator fails a pushed roll, he or she is convinced that something is there and that they will find it under the wallpaper, hidden in the plaster, or beneath the floorboards.</p>
</text>
</id-spothidden>

flekhabren
November 30th, 2017, 22:46
Thanks.

I will work with this and see what I can get to work.

is it safe to assume that an extension with extension.xml and a lua script could affect the character sheet frames? In my BRP extension i have a section in a lua script that has section called local GameLine = {code} and in that code a 'skills = {...}' that lists the skills I want to use. If those two things are all i have in an extension could it over write the starting skill list for new characters?

I dont want to push and get you to show more than is comfortable so let me know if the answers to this would cause that.

damned
December 1st, 2017, 00:55
The skills in Call of Cthulhu 7e are tied to Occupations and other things.
ianmward and I will update the language extension and that can probably be used to change the skill names.

flekhabren
December 1st, 2017, 00:58
I assume you are referencing the german language extension?

damned
December 1st, 2017, 01:12
Correct. You need to update the Strings files otherwise you will break other things.

flekhabren
December 4th, 2017, 23:48
So I discovered you guys built into the Coc 7e the ability to develop your own era. I think that will work for the skill modifications I was wanting to do. I'm not sure where to set the era however. In the options my custom Era isn't listed.

ianmward
December 5th, 2017, 02:46
So I discovered you guys built into the Coc 7e the ability to develop your own era. I think that will work for the skill modifications I was wanting to do. I'm not sure where to set the era however. In the options my custom Era isn't listed.

It should appear, I’m not sure why it has not. Can you try restarting to see if it appears in the options after the restart?

flekhabren
December 5th, 2017, 03:09
It should appear, I’m not sure why it has not. Can you try restarting to see if it appears in the options after the restart?

that was it, I hadn't reloaded since I set it up, thanks

ianmward
December 5th, 2017, 03:26
that was it, I hadn't reloaded since I set it up, thanks
To be honest, you should not need to restart, I’ll retest to find out why you needed to...

I’m glad you’re working, though.

Ian

flekhabren
December 5th, 2017, 04:44
I think it auto loaded it, just the display in options was not accurate. When I did the reload it was set properly in options.

Sjelsyk
December 5th, 2017, 09:39
@Era in Options: What I found out while playing around with this was mainly that if I opened the "Options" window before adding a new Era, and kept it open while I created the Era, I needed to close the Option window and open it again for the Era to be available. Never needed to reload or restart during my testing at least. Just to throw in my experience with it.

flekhabren
December 5th, 2017, 12:34
I feel like in my instance I did close and reopen options, but not the era's window. I was not paying that close of attention however, so I may not have closed the options window.

flekhabren
December 8th, 2017, 20:52
I wanted to confirm, when loading an extension all of the base rule set is loaded and then anything in the extension is loaded potentially over writing the base rule set items? (such as the language extensions, it loads then replaces the names)

Moon Wizard
December 8th, 2017, 21:07
Yes, that's correct.

Also, when multiple extensions are loaded, they are loaded based on the "load order" priority set in the extension meta-data. If the "load order" is the same, they can be loaded in any order.

For ruleset layers, they are processed in the order they are defined. (i.e. if an importruleset tag is specified, all of the imported ruleset tags are imported before continuing to process the original requesting ruleset.)

Regards,
JPG