PDA

View Full Version : 'Low Tech' Tabletop...Can someone point me in the right direction.

Moschops
October 25th, 2017, 19:09
Hi!

I'm relatively new to the program, and am looking to set up my play space in a pretty low-tech manner.

I don't want to use most of the automated features, all I want is the ability to track tokens, spell effect templates, roll dice, and draw maps.

The first three things are simple enough, but drawing maps has me vexed. I've read that you can use Photoshop and a tablet and then hotsave and reload files to draw maps like you would on a battle mat, but is there a simpler way?

Also, is there a way to label tokens so they can be numbered for tracking purposes?

Thanks in advance for any advice.

LordEntrails
October 25th, 2017, 21:34
Hey, welcome to the forums :)

FG won't create images for you. You need to create it in something like Gimp, PhotoShop, Campaign Cartographer, etc. You can draw over an image with some real basic tools, like circles, freehand, etc, but very crude.

If you add tokens from an encounter to the Combat Tracker and then to the map, their is an option to auto-number the entries in the CT, and therefore with the tooltip when you hover over the token.

Zacchaeus
October 25th, 2017, 21:35
Hi Moschops, welcome to FG.

You can't draw maps in FG except on a very basic line style; to draw anything like a reasonable map you are going to need some kind of drawing or map making package. You'll find details of some option here (https://www.fantasygrounds.com/forums/showthread.php?20879-Map-Making-Software-summary) but there are others available as well.

As for your other questions we'll need you to tell us what ruleset you are interested in playing (D&D 5E, 4E, 3.5, Pathfinder, Savage Worlds etc). Most of the main ones supported by Smiteworks have numbered tokens and those are tracked via the combat tracker which also handles combat dice rolls, damage, effects etc etc.

Moschops
October 26th, 2017, 02:14