PDA

View Full Version : DM joining a new campaign as a player -- Where are my books?

allezpsg
October 12th, 2017, 05:26
Hi all,

I've been DMing a campaign on FG for almost 2 years and now that campaign is winding down and my group is about to start a new campaign with one of my players taking over DM duties. We just started a test campaign to make sure everything was working correctly, but I don't seem to have access to the PHBDeluxe that I purchased. In the library, only the basic rules and SRD content shows up. How do I access this my purchased books?

Thanks in advance for the answer!

SirGraystone
October 12th, 2017, 05:40
As a player you can only access the books that the DM own and shared to the players.

allezpsg
October 12th, 2017, 05:49
Thank you for the reply and I don't mean for this to sound dismissive of your answer, but I can't use books that I paid for on my own account?!?!? This seems crazy to me! I get that I can no longer share with other players if I'm not the DM, but why would I be blocked from my own content?

damned
October 12th, 2017, 05:52
You can use books that you own but the GM must permit it.
When you try and Activate your books from the Library -> Modules the GM will get prompted whether or not to permit you access.
Eg: the GM should only give you access to Player resources and not MM and PHB and Adventures.

damned
October 12th, 2017, 05:53
SirGraystones answer was correct but changed about 2 years ago.

allezpsg
October 12th, 2017, 13:11
Ok, this makes more sense. Now the question is how do I even try to "activate my books" to prompt the DM for access? They currently aren't even showing up in my Library button.

damned
October 12th, 2017, 13:17
As per above - Library -> Modules

allezpsg
October 12th, 2017, 13:28
Sorry, that is exactly what I tried...but the books aren't there.

damned
October 12th, 2017, 13:50
Please post a screen shot.

Moon Wizard
October 12th, 2017, 17:08