PDA

View Full Version : New Ruleset Development Question

Rewstyr
October 4th, 2017, 14:40
Hi. I am a professional software developer who has got permission from publisher to make a FG ruleset for the new Elite Dangerous RPG. I am not looking to make money on this, just something to do for fun. I am now going through the documentation and various tutorials which is all good.

My question is about creating the actual ruleset. Is it kosher to take an existing ruleset like Fate Core, rename it then just rip stuff out? This seems easiest but I wonder if that is fair to the developer of that ruleset that I didn't 'code it myself'. I am fine with starting from CoreRPG and adding everything in new but I see from looking at a few CoreRPG-based rulesets that there is a lot of duplicated code between them and that I would be creating another wheel.

Thoughts?

Rewstyr

Andraax
October 4th, 2017, 14:53
Depends on the license for the existing ruleset. Best bet is to layer on top of CoreRPG - or, if it's very similar to Fate Core, layer on top of that ruleset (see the community AD&D ruleset which is layered on top of Castles and Crusades, which is layered on top of CoreRPG).

Talyn
October 4th, 2017, 14:59
Ok you said you've already spoken with Spidermind. Have them contact SmiteWorks. If they'll license with SmiteWorks for an official ruleset, sweet.

If you're just looking to play with a couple friends and call it day, I'd suggest just playing in CoreRPG or MoreCore.

damned
October 4th, 2017, 15:05
You are best building it as a Layered Ruleset on top of CoreRPG or on top of another ruleset that is layered on CoreRPG.
At the very least you are likely to look at the code in multiple other rulesets to learn how things are done.
CoreRPG has huge amounts of functionality built into it - but most of that is NOT character sheet functionality - for that you will be learning from other rulesets.