PDA

View Full Version : MUSE - Map Unit Settings Extension (CoreRPG)



celestian
July 30th, 2017, 22:17
MUSE, Map Unit Settings Extension for CoreRPG.

Works with FG 3.3.7.

Not compatible with the AD&D ruleset as it's built into it already.

This extension should work for CoreRPG rulesets. It will allow you to set the unit size of a grid/hex instead of just the standard 5ft. The default is 5ft. A lot of the older games use 10ft unit size and this will allow those DM/players to properly see distances for those maps.

The current version of the extension is attached to this post.

Here is what it looks like in action in CoreRPG using 5ft unit. Note the two highlighted points. The top bar, you'll need to enable grid tools and then you'll see the unit size box.

http://i.imgur.com/3tfO6He.png

Here is an example with 10ft.

http://i.imgur.com/vaynaAj.png

If there is a version I am working on it will reside on the GitHUB repo here :GitHUB, MUSE (https://github.com/CelestianGC/MUSE/)

Most of this was put together using bits from the SavageWorlds ruleset so I can't take credit for the hard work. What parts I did put together tho you can do as you will with this extension.

changelog

1.2 - fixed bug in "read only" mode when using cone/line/distance hostkeys.
1.3 - fixed bug with AOE templates (Circle/Cone/Square).
1.7 - added support for "metric" (decimal)
1.8 - Updates for 3.3.7 release.
1.9 - Fixed issue that caused unit sizes with decimals to be calculated incorrectly.


Download here:

Asterionaisien
July 30th, 2017, 22:37
This should be really made part the base program, looks really useful for all GM's! Thanks Celestian

celestian
July 30th, 2017, 22:53
Version update.

Removed the <ruleset> specification, I thought it would allow all rulesets that include CoreRPG to see it but apparently not. I've remove that restriction now but just know this will only work with CoreRPG rulesets (rulesets that include CoreRPG or CoreRPG proper).

LordEntrails
July 30th, 2017, 22:59
How does it affect token sizing? If automatic token sizing is enabled, will medium size tokens now take up one 10 ft grid or will they take up 1/4 of a 10 ft grid?

celestian
July 30th, 2017, 23:14
How does it affect token sizing? If automatic token sizing is enabled, will medium size tokens now take up one 10 ft grid or will they take up 1/4 of a 10 ft grid?

Far as I know the tokensize will be adjusted based on the unit, not the unit size. 1 unit is 1 unit. Whether its considered 10 ft or 5 ft I don't think matters. Mind you if you change the unit size while the tokens are there I'm not sure what will happen. When I placed tokens on it they scaled to the unit (square) as you'd expect.

Here is the same tokens in CoreRPG I used in the 5ft example using 10ft. This answer your question? I use the auto-scale option of "80%".


http://i.imgur.com/WKNRcof.png

celestian
July 31st, 2017, 07:54
1.2, Bug fixed in read only mode when using distance/cone/etc hostkeys.

celestian
September 30th, 2017, 05:46
edit: this was fixed in update 1.3

I just found that when using this extension it will make the "pointers" for shapes (cone/square/etc) limited to just some burst templates. I'll look at fixing this when I return from work travel this weekend.

celestian
September 30th, 2017, 21:25
Update: 1.3

Found and fixed the issue with the aoe templating (circle/square/cone). You can now place them on the map not just use the quick draw mode for them.

Thegroo
October 1st, 2017, 02:52
Good work

Slalom
October 28th, 2017, 11:59
Good work. Very useful.

Thegroo
October 29th, 2017, 02:30
Top

yako2020
December 7th, 2017, 19:17
Thanks Celestian!

heedio
August 26th, 2018, 13:36
Thank you Celestian for this extension,

I propose to modify 2 functions to make the extension compatible with the metric system and the decimal values.
I tested and it works in foots and metric.

In the file "image_record.lua" you have to modify:



function getScaleControlScaleValue()
-- return getScaleControlisValid() and tonumber(getScaleControlValue():match("[%d+%p+%d]-^[%s*]")) or 0
local sLenScale=string.len(getScaleControlValue());
local sLenScaleLabel=string.len(getScaleControlScaleLabe l());
local sValScale=string.sub(getScaleControlValue(),1,sLen Scale-sLenScaleLabel);
return getScaleControlisValid() and tonumber(sValScale) or 0;
end


and ...


function getScaleControlScaleLabel()
-- return StringManager.trim(getScaleControlValue():gsub("^%d+%s*", ""))
return StringManager.trim(getScaleControlValue():gsub("^[%d+%p+%d]+%s*", ""))
end

celestian
August 27th, 2018, 16:16
Thank you Celestian for this extension,

I propose to modify 2 functions to make the extension compatible with the metric system and the decimal values.
I tested and it works in foots and metric.

In the file "image_record.lua" you have to modify:



and ...

I'll give these changes a spin and post for you to test sometime this week. Thanks for the tweaks!

celestian
August 27th, 2018, 19:21
Okay, try this version out and let me know if it works for you. My initial testing showed it worked.

If it works for you I'll update the top post.

sirkerry
August 28th, 2018, 17:30
Note: there's no reason to use this with the Savage Worlds rule set, it already has most of this functionality baked in.

celestian
August 28th, 2018, 18:06
Note: there's no reason to use this with the Savage Worlds rule set, it already has most of this functionality baked in.

Infact it would probably cause problems if you did use it since they do the same things. ;(

sirkerry
August 28th, 2018, 21:15
Infact it would probably cause problems if you did use it since they do the same things. ;(

Actually it works just fine, the main problem just being that it removes the predefined small, medium, and large burst templates from the pointers.

celestian
August 28th, 2018, 21:57
Actually it works just fine, the main problem just being that it removes the predefined small, medium, and large burst templates from the pointers.

I would class that as a "caused" problem ;) I imagine they both use the same xml entries which is why. (I've no experience running SW ruleset directly).

celestian
December 19th, 2018, 02:29
Update:
1.8 - Updates for 3.3.7 release.

Dr0W
July 30th, 2019, 18:08
Hi! Any chance it could possibly support fractions for measurement? For example, most brazilian d20 systems use 1.5 meters for squares, but the extension would recognize the .5 part as the unit name.

garrion_sw
September 30th, 2019, 20:09
Celestian, I'm running into a little problem with the calculation of the units with this extension. This has come up due to Traveller using a 1.5m grid. The ruleset properly computes distances but in some instances I may want to change it to 1 parsec, 10 m, or 1 km distance for larger scale stuff, hence using your extension. I am using 1.8 and I saw where as of 1.7 this supported metric and decimals.

The first grid space from the target properly computes at 1.5m but every step beyond that it is adding a whole number value of 1 rather than multiplying 1.5 -> 3 -> 4.5 -> 6, etc. Instead it is doing 1.5 -> 2.5 -> 3.5 -> 4.5, etc. I tested this with other frameworks to see if it just happened to be the Traveller ruleset default that was messing with it but it does this in all that I tried.

I can make do without this extension but if you could find a fix it would be appreciated.

celestian
September 30th, 2019, 20:45
Celestian, I'm running into a little problem with the calculation of the units with this extension. This has come up due to Traveller using a 1.5m grid. The ruleset properly computes distances but in some instances I may want to change it to 1 parsec, 10 m, or 1 km distance for larger scale stuff, hence using your extension. I am using 1.8 and I saw where as of 1.7 this supported metric and decimals.

The first grid space from the target properly computes at 1.5m but every step beyond that it is adding a whole number value of 1 rather than multiplying 1.5 -> 3 -> 4.5 -> 6, etc. Instead it is doing 1.5 -> 2.5 -> 3.5 -> 4.5, etc. I tested this with other frameworks to see if it just happened to be the Traveller ruleset default that was messing with it but it does this in all that I tried.

I can make do without this extension but if you could find a fix it would be appreciated.

I'm a bit backed up due to my day job travel recently but I'll try and take a look at this once I get caught up with current FG projects.

celestian
October 2nd, 2019, 23:45
Celestian, I'm running into a little problem with the calculation of the units with this extension. This has come up due to Traveller using a 1.5m grid. The ruleset properly computes distances but in some instances I may want to change it to 1 parsec, 10 m, or 1 km distance for larger scale stuff, hence using your extension. I am using 1.8 and I saw where as of 1.7 this supported metric and decimals.

The first grid space from the target properly computes at 1.5m but every step beyond that it is adding a whole number value of 1 rather than multiplying 1.5 -> 3 -> 4.5 -> 6, etc. Instead it is doing 1.5 -> 2.5 -> 3.5 -> 4.5, etc. I tested this with other frameworks to see if it just happened to be the Traveller ruleset default that was messing with it but it does this in all that I tried.

I can make do without this extension but if you could find a fix it would be appreciated.

I think I have a working solution.

This the type of behavior you are looking for?

https://i.imgur.com/njXVP9r.png

celestian
October 6th, 2019, 00:49
Update

1.9 - Fixed issue that caused unit sizes with decimals to be calculated incorrectly.

mattekure
October 6th, 2019, 01:10
I think you forgot to reupload the attachment with the 1.9 update. there isnt any on the first post.

celestian
October 6th, 2019, 01:33
I think you forgot to reupload the attachment with the 1.9 update. there isnt any on the first post.

Well kiss my grits, sure nuff. I had posted the edit but still had the manage attachements window opened.

Should be there now.

Valyar
October 6th, 2019, 09:09
I noticed that when the extension is loaded and I open a locked image, there is grey (or other default for the ruleset color) ribbon that disappears only when I unlock/lock the image.

The state is not persistent and when I re-load a campaign - the ribbon is there again. Tested on CoreRPG, MoreCore and image is attached.

seycyrus
October 6th, 2019, 16:46
Ha!

The GURPS ruleset has something like this already built in, but I was interested in the decimal point (.5 etc.) that I saw in the screenshots, so I loaded it up to give it a whirl.

Evidently, they do not play that well together, resulting in the attached image. Finally, an accuracy that even my most rules-lawyering players will be happy with!

garrion_sw
October 9th, 2019, 16:02
Thanks Celestian, I finally got a chance to check the thread and got your update. It works perfectly now. I modified the height extension to use 1.5m increments and it's all good.

vvZODvv
January 5th, 2020, 19:34
I'm getting the same thing. A minor thing for sure, but one I'd rather not have present if possible.

vvZODvv
January 5th, 2020, 19:35
I'm getting the same "ribbon" at the top as noted by Valyar. A minor thing for sure, but one I'd rather not have present if possible.

celestian
January 5th, 2020, 20:46
I'm getting the same "ribbon" at the top as noted by Valyar. A minor thing for sure, but one I'd rather not have present if possible.

I'm holding off working on this extension further until FGU is released. Mapping and images changes pretty dramatically. I've got a working prototype but things are still in flux for now.

vvZODvv
January 5th, 2020, 21:32
I'm holding off working on this extension further until FGU is released. Mapping and images changes pretty dramatically. I've got a working prototype but things are still in flux for now.

Gotcha. Thanks!