PDA

View Full Version : Requesting a spot of advice

Dram
July 19th, 2017, 14:49
Hello! I'm new to Fantasy Grounds and these here forums. I'm looking for a little bit of purchasing advice. Any help will be greatly appreciated!

The setup;

I have a group that I've been playing with for years. We've finally hit the point where enough of us have split town that we're going digital. We like to play 5e and we tend to rotate DM's.

We're financially stable, but we want to keep costs to a minimum.

The question;

With an ultimate license and the three core books, is it possible to rotate DM's? Can you share the books if you purchase multiple standard licenses? How would you, the fantasy grounds aficionados, tackle this problem?

Thank you for your time and I look forward to being a part of the team!

dulux-oz
July 19th, 2017, 14:57
Hi Dram, and Welcome! to the Community,

Your best bet in your situation would be for each of the GMs to take a Standard License (or monthly Subscription). That will allow each of you to GM for the others as and when each desires too.

As far as the books are concerned, what I'd do is have each person who wanted a copy purchase one - but then again I love FG and want to support SmiteWorks :)

You don't need the 3 core books to play - you can enter the info in manually. But if you did want them them no, you can't share them among the GMs but a GM can share a Module with the connected players (while they are connected) - so this might be the way to go for you guys.

Finally, if you haven't done so already, let me encourage you and the rest of your group to take a look at some of the great Tutorial Videos available on the Fantasy Grounds Wiki (and on YouTube). Damn's are good, as are Xorn's, and people seem to like mine as well (mine are also available from the links in my sig, below).