PDA

View Full Version : using the software for paper and pencil RPG

andydm
January 27th, 2006, 03:47
I am looking for a really good program to run a paper and pencil game with. I see that this is designed to do that on the internet, but I want something to use for game night, at my buddy's house, with everyone in the same room. Will this work, or should I look elsewhere?

Morfedel
January 27th, 2006, 06:17
Hm. I'm a bit new to this, but what exactly are you looking for your software to do? I mean, if you are already at the table in real life, what do you want the software to do exactly?

Stuart
January 27th, 2006, 08:33
This will work ... also look at DMGenie

sunbeam60
January 27th, 2006, 11:50
Yeah, you could get something up and running by putting a client computer on the other side of your screen, facing the players, and then log it in to your DM client. The players would have to occasionally adjust the size and position of maps, but you determine when maps open up to the players/clients, so you could use it as some kind of presentation tool. Advantages is of course the gradual reveal, the token support, the area-of-effect support etc.

danielpryor
January 27th, 2006, 12:25
Here's how I plan to use this program (by next wednesday): I have a newer laptop running the DM Client end software with a wireless G card built in for access over my friends high-speed wiresless network. My friend Mike will be using an older but useeable laptop to login as a player client. (There are a total of six players though!). Mike's laptop (player) will be hooked up too a non-moving sealing fan that will hold a digital project face down in place so the maps are projected on a white poster board that has been laminated for shinniness and also if we want to use erasable pens on it. We are using 3d miniatures. The maps are all preploaded and ready to go and zoomed in so that each mini fills a 5' square on the grid.