PDA

View Full Version : Custom NPC (3.5) Vehicles tab field headings

PappaJHR
June 26th, 2017, 04:53
Hello, as with most I am new to FG, and just spent several hours/days adding in custom rules, classes, linked tables, so on and so forth... ...but most importantly I put in a literal ton of NPC creatures. Everything going great until I went to add our house version of spelljammer ships and found that none of the field names on the vehicle tab worked for our game. I did the obligatory searches trying to find a way to change the field headings (not sure what else to call them), and while I did find some links\posts the information I found... ... ...in most cases went way beyond what I was looking for, and allot of it was over my head... What I am looking for is a simple way to change the names on a group of fields in the vehicle tab. I attached an image below of what I am trying to do, and thank you in advance.

LordEntrails
June 26th, 2017, 07:10
Hey PappaJHR, welcome to the forums :)

I don't do anything in 3.5, but I do know 5E pretty well. And atleast in that ruleset (and I suspect in 3.5) those headings the you want to change are in the xml itself. Are you looking to create a custom extension or where you just hoping to change the field name dynamically or through the UI? If you are looking to do it with an extension, I can point you in the right direction, but it doesn't sound like that's what you were wanting...

PappaJHR
June 26th, 2017, 14:35
I would be fine editing the xml file, if I knew which xml file to edit and what inside of the xml to change. I think making a module would be a bit overkill for what I want to do (I could be wrong, I am just not sure). I am just looking for the easiest way to add the relevant ship stats. If your not familiar with how Spelljammer ship stats look, I have pasted an example below and this is what I am trying to track.

Man-O-War, Archaic
Built by: Elves
Used Primarily By: Elves
Tonnage: 50
Hull Points: 50
Crew: 10/50