PDA

View Full Version : Content Packs for Players

Michael Hopcroft
May 8th, 2017, 03:14
If you are going to play in an AL FG game, but not GM, which content packages if any do you need to buy, either as proof of ownership or simply to get the interface to work?

Alyksandrei
May 8th, 2017, 21:09
If you're not planning on GMing, you shouldn't need anything but FG Demo, provided you have the books you're using in hardcopy, or the pdfs of the Basic Rules and/or SRD. If you don't have those, you'll either need to download the pdfs from Wizards (they're free, but have limited options) or get at least the class pack for your character(s). If you're going to GM, you'll at least need the "Core Class Pack" aka PHB Deluxe and the FG version of the modules. DMG is probably highly recommended as well.

Disclaimer: I'm not an AL expert or GM, but I do play. I have hardcopy materials and a FG Demo license.

Trenloe
May 8th, 2017, 21:14
If you're not planning on GMing, you shouldn't need anything but FG Demo...
Having the FG demo will restrict you to finding games where the GM has the Ultimate license only, you cannot join games where the GM has the standard license. Best to get a Standard license so this will allow you to join any game.

Michael Hopcroft
May 9th, 2017, 03:52
Having the FG demo will restrict you to finding games where the GM has the Ultimate license only, you cannot join games where the GM has the standard license. Best to get a Standard license so this will allow you to join any game.

I already have a standard GM-compatible license (allowing access to paid clients). My questions mainly concern content I would need to use to play in an AL game. I have the book my character requires (PHB Only) but not the content pack.

This, of course, assumes anyone is interested in having a 3rd-level Battle Master in their party, which is questionable (and a long story....)

Trenloe
May 9th, 2017, 04:51