PDA

View Full Version : New DM looking for mentor!

Mini Chaos
May 4th, 2017, 14:29
Hello I'm Mini Chaos, but my friends just call me Mini. I recently subscribed to the ultimate licence program. I am brand new to D&D but have wanted to play since I was a teenager (lets just say I'm far from that now lol). Anyways I am just scribbling around and looking at the videos on steam. I could really use some help in learning how to navigate the system and do some things.

Such as, is there a list of classes that our PC's can choose from or is totally up to the GM? How do I determine move distance? How do I link maps together or do I have to close and reopen them? If I have characters on one map and another character in another town can I somehow easily switch between them?

Thanks for any help and offers of lessons,

Mini Chaos

Nylanfs
May 4th, 2017, 14:45
Hiya, welcome to the forums and FG community!

Mini Chaos
May 4th, 2017, 15:12
Thank you! Are you a player or a DM or both?

dulux-oz
May 4th, 2017, 15:23
Hi Mini, and Welcome! to the Community,

The best way to start in on this fantastic hobby is to actually play as a Player first and then "graduate" to being a GM. Yes, you can jump straight in to GMing (and many do) but many more "ease" themselves into it.

Joining in on a game involves hunting around for a group thats looking for players. The LFG Forum here is a good place to start, and there's plenty of advice on how to go about it on the various "sticky" threads.

If you do want to jump in as a GM then you'll need to read all and understand all the rules of your chosen RPG system. Once you feel reasonable confident advertise for players and you should be set. You can also read the various Blogs on GMing here on the FG Site or on other websites as well - but in the end you've got to do it (a bit like riding a bike - you can be told how but only tou can actually ride it yourself).