PDA

View Full Version : New player looking for some advice

patoarch12
April 16th, 2017, 05:07
Hi all,

I used to play D&D almost every day after school in Jr. High with a group of friends back in the early 90's but had to move freshman year in high school and have not played since. Twenty four years later I am looking to play again after a couple of co-workers invited me to try playing with them (offline game). I wanted to find a way to play online to practice and possibly play regularly from home and found out about Fantasy Grounds. After watching a few videos of people playing on FG I was sold on it! I bought the 5E player handbook (I prefer to have the physical books whenever possible) and the ultimate license and am excited to get into it again.

It's been so long I feel like a total newbie again and so I wanted to ask for some advice before attempting to post on LFG:

Are there specific types of games I should look for or try to avoid as I am starting out trying to become familiar again with D&D and the Fantasy Grounds platform?

Is there an unwritten rule of etiquette that new players are expected to know all of the rules before trying to join groups? (Or at least had read the entire player handbook?) I am about a quarter of the way through the handbook currently and wondering if it would be bad form to try to get into a game before I even finish reading the manual.

Thanks!

JohnD
April 16th, 2017, 05:16
Welcome back home after all those years.

People are usually pretty "newbie" friendly and helpful here; either helping someone learn a new set of rules, or helping them learn how to use FG. Or both.

dulux-oz
April 16th, 2017, 06:01
Hi patoarch12, and Welcome! to the Community,

Pretty much what JohnD has already said. All I'll add is let us know your timezone, days and times avaliable, etc - things like that which will help a GM decide to invite you into their game or not.