PDA

View Full Version : Trying to understand Savage Worlds mechanics

Niles
March 16th, 2017, 03:31
I'm new to Savage Worlds and Deadlands. I am reading through the Player's Handbook and I understand how to assign points for traits and skills. What I don't understand is what number I'm looking for to determine success or what I'm rolling against. I'm used to D&D DC checks and comparing the number rolled to another number. I'm not quite sure how combat works either. Can anyone shed some light? Is there a tutorial for SW?

Talyn
March 16th, 2017, 03:44
99% of the time your Target Number is 4. Modifiers may apply, per the GM, per Edges, and so forth, just like any other RPG.

If you're doing melee combat, your TN is the opponent's Parry. Tricks and other Opposed Rolls both of you roll the appropriate attribute die, higher roll wins.

The combat chapter of the Player's Guide has an expanded combat explanation which should get you through the basics.

The main thing is that Savage Worlds isn't a "battle of attrition" like D&D and its various offshoots where, say, you're just standing there hitting each other until the first combatant runs out of hit points.

There are several YouTube tutorials and videos for doing Savage Worlds in Fantasy Grounds...

Topdecker
March 16th, 2017, 04:21
Check in C:\ProgramData\Fantasy Grounds\docs

Some of the documentation here will answer questions that you have not yet asked. "Savage Worlds 4 Supplement-1.2.pdf" is especially useful.

When you can, you should get the Adventure Deck. It adds a lot to the game and gives the players fun ways to stay alive :)

Niles
March 16th, 2017, 04:27
Thanks Topdecker and Talyn. I will check those out!

dragonheels
March 16th, 2017, 16:12
Check in C:\ProgramData\Fantasy Grounds\docs

Some of the documentation here will answer questions that you have not yet asked. "Savage Worlds 4 Supplement-1.2.pdf" is especially useful.