PDA

View Full Version : Building 5e Encounters

Nalfien
March 16th, 2017, 02:48
https://dhmholley.co.uk/encounter-calculator-5th/

Check out this encounter calculator for 5th edition. I'm new to 5e, and I'm trying to make sense of the DM Guide's rules for appropriate challenges. I'm coming from 3.5ed so from what I can tell, expecting a group of 4 players of level 1 to take on a CR of 1 can be really deadly. In fact, using the calculator, simple 1/4 CR skeletons can go from 2 being easy to 3 being hard with no middle ground.

I notice that in Fantasy Grounds there is a great encounter builder that will tell you a CR value. If it included the linked calculator, it sure would help out new 5e DMs such as myself. XP awarded will not be the sames as adjusted XP for determining difficulty, and although it's a bit rough to learn, I think it accounts for more variables than the 3.5ed ECL system did.

So I think I've got this down, but please feel free to reply your methods of how you dish out your adventuring days. Also, if it looks like I have some wrong idea about all this, please speak up and thanks in advance.

The DM guide section on The Adventuring Day (pg 84) gives an XP pool you can segment out, and assumes the party will take two short rests that day. It also mentions the typical party can handle about 6 to 8 medium or hard encounters each day.