PDA

View Full Version : Any old school Greyhawk interest?

dr_venture
February 26th, 2017, 03:54
Against my better judgement, I may have some time now to creep slightly out of my hole of work-related seclusion and at least investigate running a game again. Looking at old school rules in Gygax-era Greyhawk, though the setting isn't necessarily super important. Undecided if it would be a voice or text only game. System is modded C&C with extra classes & races, mimicking AD&D1e & the campaign from the 1980's which this campaign world is an on-again, off-again extension of. Wed & Thurs are my days off, but I could potentially run any day from 5pm to 10pm Pacific.

Just curious if there is any interest?

Varsuuk
February 26th, 2017, 04:26
I would SOOOO love playing Gygax-era Greyhawk.
I just started playing in my first FG campaign since buying this over a year back ;) - having fun. It's 5e.

I started AD&D in '79 with a confused reading of the PHB. Found some who "knew" how to play and embarked on a long love afair. Eventually started DMing for HS friends in '81. We continued the core of that group after graduation in '83 through about '92 (although thankfully, one of the new additions was a really good GM and I could play as well as DM.) A new shorter run game started in 98/99 playing on and off for a little over a year. The latter was 3E-ish. Ran mainly older adventures with newer rules.

Only problem is I don't see being able to get on safely before 10PM EST ... so 7PM PST. I haven't missed any sessions since our Wed night 10-1am (EST - I believe DM is west coast) game started but I have gotten on at 10:15 at times when little boy has trouble sleeping. Have a new system that appears to work better... I have him sleep in OUR bed with Mom so I don't have to be there until he falls asleep ;P