PDA

View Full Version : Help - I'm DMing and starting to hate it.

kalnaren
February 21st, 2017, 17:16
So a bit of background, this is my first time DMing a game. My group (we're all good friends, 5 plus me) are playing Pathfinder. We've done 7 sessions now -2 where we ran through the intro box scenario and the other 5 in Rise of the Runelords. Our sessions typically run 3-5 hours.

Problem is I'm starting to find I'm really not enjoying myself. One probelm is my players aren't making much effort to learn the game or the rules that apply to their characters, instead constantly relying on me to inform them when some bonus applies, what to roll, etc. I'm having a similar problem with them learning the basics of FG... 8 sessions in (before we played I did a 2 hour "learn Fantasy Grounds" session where I walked them through the program and character creation) and I still have to tell them how to make attack, initiative, save rolls and the like. Nothing major really but I'm finding it gets really tiring during a session.

That's issue 1.