PDA

View Full Version : draggable text from chat box?

spiderling
November 13th, 2005, 22:16
** Copied from other forum where I posted incorrectly

Is it possible to make text draggable from the chat window, similar to how a GM can make a text box in story/notes to drag to the chat window?

It would be nice to make things draggable for characters so they can distribute items faster...

Gamemaster: You find a (Longsword +1)

Player clicks on longsword+1 and drops it on his character sheet in inventory... that kind of thing.

I'm very new to FG and would love some feedback :)

I like that suggestion, but as a counter I would say tha DM might have those already built in as an item, then he would jsut share it with that player (by dragging it to his picture). Now, I realize that I do not plan that far ahead either, I rarely have the items written up in advance so I could jsut share, so I do like your suggestion.

As a newb to the program, I didn't know I could do that... but programming each item in might be time consuming if it's trivial things that players want to keep. Leather armor, standard or even masterwork longswords, etc.

I use /die 150 Gold pieces and things like that for easy drag loot and xp, but the item functionality would be nice too.

I'm going to try out the item window list and see how it works for dragging to characters.

:Edit:

You can share the item sheet with the player, but they can't drag any text from the item box to their character sheet... which means they can read the item but not put it somewhere permanent (between game sessions)

So what I suggested earlier about making draggable text from the chat window would still be nice... hell, especially if you can put it in story paragraphs... a description of the dragon's hoard with draggable links.... or even hotbutton shortcuts to the item window which has draggable text.

Ex: (dragged from story window)