PDA

View Full Version : This is what it's all about.

vodokar
February 10th, 2017, 06:56
Just received this in my email from Goodman Games. Thought I would share.

Playtesting A Legend

By James M. Ward

I was extremely lucky in 1974 to meet Gary Gygax when he was just creating the many adventures that were to become D&D and AD&D legends. I had the fun of play testing the Tomb of Horrors, Vault of the Drow, Land Beyond the Mirror, Against the Giants, and on and on and on.

My very first memory of playing D&D was going over to Gary’s house on a Saturday afternoon. I met his wonderful family and was introduced to his beautiful young wife Mary. I think Ernie, his oldest son, was in 7th grade then and while I was a college graduate, Ernie and I soon became fast friends as I greatly respected his skill at D&D and still do today.
Brian Blume helped me roll up a character. The numbers indicated I should be a magic user as I had a high intelligence and dexterity. I equipped myself with a quarter staff and some throwing daggers and a few other backpack items. My choice was between a sleep spell and a light spell, and I picked a light spell.

I was hooked in the first five minutes of the adventure and it became a lifelong activity that has served me well 43 years later. So in my first game I watched Don mapping our way down into Greyhawk dungeon. I was told we would be exploring a new section of the dungeons. It was okay with me. I had my mouth open the whole time and I couldn’t believe the fun I was having. We came to what I was told were three unusual portals. Up until now Gary had done what he always did as the Dungeon Master. He spun the story so I could feel the walls, sights, and smells of the dungeon. My imagination was equal to the task of what we were doing. I felt the heat of our torches and the smell of blood on our weapons from a fight with a giant boar.